Interspecies Blogging

In July of 2010, I received my first blogging Award, The Versatile Blogger, from Granny1947.   It was not only my first blogging award, it was my first international blogging award, since Granny1947 resides in South Africa (on a very beautiful beach, I might add).   But this week, I’ve done that one better … I’ve received my first Interspecies  blogging award from Sandy of SandySays.  Sandy is a lady Golden Retriever.  I have to admit, as a cat guy, I’m not usually a fan of canine humor but Sandy’s eye for the foibles and peccadilloes of humans, especially her owner, who she calls The Geezer, has made me a regular reader.  Just don’t tell Mr. P and Elvis, our cats.   And to receive an award from such an expert on human behavior … well, all I can say is, Thank you very much.

Saying thank you is, by the way, one of the four conditions of receiving The Versatile Blogger(1) Thank the blogger who gave the award and link to their blog;  (2) Share 7 things about yourself;  (3) Pass the award along to 15 bloggers (and link to them); and (4) Comment on their blogs to tell them of the award. Here are the other three:

(2) Share seven things about myself:  This gets harder to do without repetition after three years of blogging:

I was born while my father was serving in Italy during World War II.   I know from a letter my Mom sent to her mother that they referred to me as Little Stinkie before I was born.  My name was supposed to be Frank after my father but my mother had me baptized Francis because there was no Saint Frank.  It was still better than Little Stinkie.

I was a swimmer in high school and once swam against the world record holder, Steve Clark, in the 100 meter freestyle.  He was out of the pool, showered and home before I finished.

I was a member of Beta Sigma Gamma, the first interracial fraternity at the University of Connecticut.   I learned as much by being there during the civil rights years as I did in the classroom.

I graduated from the University of Connecticut in Electrical Engineering with a C+ average in 1966.  Twenty-six years later, I earned a PhD from USC with no grade lower than an A.  It’s amazing what a difference it makes to know why you’re studying what you’re studying.

My favorite authors are Alice Hoffmann and Stephen King.  That contrast tells you something about me.  I’m not sure what.

I’ve run thirteen marathons and done fifteen triathlons.   You’d never know it to look at me now.

I was once at lifeboat stations on a Navy Destroyer in the middle of the Atlantic after a fire in the engine room left us dead in the water.  That was the second worst thing about the trip.  The first was forty foot seas.

(3) Pass the award along to 15 bloggers (and link to them):  Now I know that some bloggers, particularly the memophobes among us, regard these awards as a pain and  I don’t read a vast number of blogs, so some on my list will have heard from me before.   Some are repeat winners of The Versatile Blogger Award.  Two are blogs I’ve found though recent comments on Older Eyes and one is a recommendation from Terri of Into the Mystic.   This is a no obligation (no money back) award … pass it along if you wish or just accept it as a token of my appreciation for your posts.  If you want, you can pick up the award badge in my sidebar.

(4) Comment on their blogs to tell them of the award: Consider it done.  Even if you choose not to participate, please take a look at one or two of these fine blogs.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “Interspecies Blogging”

  1. Judy Says:

    Thanks a lot, Bud, appreciate the award and mention — I like the idea of being versatile :)

    And with a little time away over the next 10 days, I look forward to some relaxing reading as I check out the other award winners.

  2. granny1947 Says:

    Thank you my friend.
    Forty feet seas????
    I would have died of fright!

    • oldereyes Says:

      It actually happened at time in my life where I was facing personal difficulties … and, although the seas were indeed terrifying, facing them gave me strength in other areas of my life.

      Thank you, by the way.

  3. Cheryl P. Says:

    Thank you for including me, Bud. I’m flattered to be in the company of some really great blogs. I am impressed with some of your facts about yourself. I only enter 5k’s and it about kills me. 13 MARATHONS, I am in awe.

    Thanks, again for the award.


  4. I guess I am one of those “memeophobes” you mentioned. I can’t think of one thing that is unusual much less also even slightly interesting story about myself that I can talk about in a post. Hard to believe that isn’t it coming from one who often rambles on and on trying to weave several different topics together in one post. But the truth of the matter is my life is very boring most of the time and the rest of the time I just plain can’t remember any more things I may have done that were really interesting. I will however pass on the award since I do have a wide variety of blogs I read and tend to feel a bit guilty when I’m supposed to only recognize 5 bloggers or some other number. And I do very much appreciate your recognition of my “drivel.”

  5. Oliver Says:

    Thanks Bud! I’ll do my best to complete my mission. :-) Never won an award before so this is all very new to me. But I appreciate you including me! :-)

    • oldereyes Says:

      I know how much it meant to me when I was starting out as a blogger. Stay with it … it gets better and easier. You will gradually build a community.


  6. Hi Bud,

    Thanks for nominating me for the Award it was really kind of you. However, I was awarded it back in March http://pigletinportugal.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/versatile-blogger-award/
    My fault I never added the badge to my blog – I ahve now :)

    I will check out all your other nominations

    PiP


  7. Oh Bud! Thank you so very much. You’re such a good blog-friend. Congrats on your award.

    PS: This made me laugh out loud for real:

    “I was a swimmer in high school and once swam against the world record holder, Steve Clark, in the 100 meter freestyle. He was out of the pool, showered and home before I finished.”

    AHAHHAHAHHAhahahhahahahha


  8. Hi Bud. I’ve heard good things about you so I wanted to pop by and say hi. You run marathons? I’m impressed already.

  9. marjulo Says:

    I just found your blog from nobusysignal@wordpress.com. I like the idea of awards, especially if it will increase my followers! I’m a cat person too–not that I have anything against dogs. I’m looking forward to following you now.

  10. marjulo Says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention my blog: http://listentothesunrise.com on WordPress. Hope you’ll stop by!

  11. undividing Says:

    Well thank you sir! I appreciate the award – I’m going to have to start printing these up and posting them on the wall ;) So you’ve really completed 15 triathlons? That is amazing, and something to be very proud of. I don’t think I’d ever attempt one, but it’s always intrigued me. Thanks again Bud :)

    • oldereyes Says:

      You know how fond I am of you and your blog. It’s funny … I think you are about my daughter’s age. Many of my posts are written in part with her in mind … you read them as I wish she would. Thanks.

  12. territerri Says:

    First of all… thank you! I am honored! And I am really going to try to participate this time. REALLY!

    Second of all… link to 15 other blogs??? “You’re killin’ me, Smalls!”

    But hey, it’s Friday and a long weekend, and why not!

    Besides, no matter how much I’ve read from a particular blogger, those “umpteen things about me” lists never get old!

    • oldereyes Says:

      THERE you are … my favorite memophobe! When I started this, you kept me going. Have you ever considered reposting some of your Terri-Terri Quite Contrary posts?


  13. [...] of these dreaded memes. (It’s not the first time!) This particular meme came with an award, The Versatile Blogger award! As I always do when tagged in a meme, I left a comment graciously (sort of) thanking Bud for [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers

