Friday Favorites 7/20/2012

Most times, when I splurge and buy a Best of album for some ancient rock and roll group, I know why I like them.   Crosby, Stills and Nash – acoustic guitars and harmony;  Santana – driving beat and Carlos’ guitar;  Electric Light Orchestra – interesting instrumentation and arrangements.   Sometimes, it’s simply nostalgia – Neil Diamond will never make it to my top songwriters list but I’ll ALWAYS sing along with Sweet Caroline, just as I will when Paul Anka sings Diana.   I recently downloaded The Cars – Greatest Hits and the truth is, I have trouble explaining why.  I have no nostalgic connection to the music, the tunes are simple and repetitive, and the lyrics aren’t poetic.   There are no stirring guitar solos or thrilling vocals.   And yet, on certain summer days when the air is clear and the sunroof is open, is there anything better than Drive on the stereo?

One of the best things about music is that it can bypass all our logic, our defenses and our pretensions, going directly to our emotions.  Drive does that for me so it’s a Friday Favorite.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Friday Favorites 7/20/2012”

  1. sharechair Says:

    Neil Diamond isn’t my favorite, either, but …. love the video of his duet with Barbra Streisand at the Grammy’s so many years ago. “You Don’t Bring Me Flowers”. Loved that , but I loved Barbra (still do). Interesting, we frequent a AAA baseball team games, and they always play Sweet Caroline in the stadium and everyone sings along …. most people weren’t even born then, but they know the chorus!

    • oldereyes Says:

      Have you ever seen Neil Diamond in person? It is a totally different experience from listening to him on the radio. I think it explains his popularity. That duet is amazing,by the way. I saw Barbra in a “Three for McGovern” concert in 1972 with James Taylor and Carole King. Most of the audience was there to see Taylor and King but Barbra stole the show with her voice.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 650 other followers

