Monday Smiles – 7/30/2012

If you are relatively new here, you may not know there are theme days on Bud’s Blog.   Monday – Smiles; Top Sites Tuesday; Wednesday – Art or Writing; Friday – Favorites;  Serious Saturday; Spirituality Sunday.  The easiest theme to post is Friday Favorites, for a number of reasons.   The hardest is probably Monday Smiles.   Terri, my first regular reader, will probably remember that I started Monday Smiles as an antidote to my tendency to Go Dark, inspired by her weekly Life is Good posts.  I spent some time this morning reading old Monday Smiles posts (they date back to September of 2009).    Back then, a fair percentage were of the smile through the tears or difficult times variety.   They’ve highlighted our cats, time spent in the park, flowers and birds, and working in the garden.   They’ve looked back at special times and people in my life that give meaning to our lives now.  They’ve featured numerous Date Nights and a few vacations. Muri sometimes wonders whether people get tired of reading about our date nights on Monday Smiles.  I wonder, too, if it doesn’t seem like bragging, or showing off (something my mother warned me against more than once) when I post about the places we are lucky enough to go.  And, of course, there have been posts about grandkids.  Both Muri and I know from experience how annoying grandparents can be when they go on and on (and on and on) about their grandkids … after all, we weren’t always grand parents with the cutest grandkids in the world … so I try to be good and not overdo them here on Bud’s Blog.  But for the past seven years since Reed made his appearance, they are one of the lights of my life, so much so that I can lift my day by bringing up a few pictures on my phone.  Naturally, I’ve posted about music.  I wouldn’t want to live in a world without music.

Of course, it’s easy to post Monday Smiles from Maui or after a wonderful weekend with the grandkids or a spectacular Date Night.   You might think that the hardest time would be during the difficult or sad times, like when my Dad passed away, but you’d be wrong.   Over the years, I’ve trained myself to work hardest at gratitude during the bad times.   The most difficult time to write Monday Smiles is in the Blah Times.   Nothing To Do, Nothing Happening, Unmotivated, Grumpy Times.  Like this weekend.  Usually during those weeks, I post about Chop Wood, Carry Water … just do the next indicated thing until the Blahs lift.   One of those next indicated things is post Monday Smiles.

In looking back over 142 Monday Smiles, I noticed something interesting … as the years have passed, more of the posts are actually happy not trying to be happy.  Though I’m three years older than when I started Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog … and life is still in session … it’s easier to find smiles on Monday.  Today is an anomaly, not business as usual.  Just as writing Friday Favorites makes me more aware of the things I love, by writing Monday Smiles I get to talk to myself about being happy.   And it seems that gradually, it’s less work.  But not no work.  I still need Monday Smiles.  It’s a reminder that at the end of the day, I blog for myself … but I’m happy to have you along.  Thank you to my new subscribers, by the way … I just passed 170.   It’s Monday … I’m smiling … about Monday Smiles.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 7/30/2012”

  1. thecrscompany Says:

    I truly love this song by Herb Alpert I have been trying to find it for 2 years i swear!!!


  2. Being somewhat of a “Gloating old Grandma” myself, I’d be the last person on the planet to complain and not get any smiles out of Grandchildren are the greatest kind of posts. But I have to confess that Herb Alpert could probably succeed in giving me some Smiles too -all the time!

  3. territerri Says:

    Nothing you’ve written has ever seemed like bragging to me. You’ve worked hard to get to where you are in life and you deserve to enjoy it. Of course, it also helps that I’ve reached a place in my life where I don’t feel as if I have to compete with everyone else to be happy. It’s hard enough to be happy sometimes as it is. I try hard to be content with my life as it is. And as far as the grandkids… well, bragging is expected. And as someone who has only met them through your blog, I’ll vouch for you. They ARE adorable!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

