Talkers and Bloggers

Several miles from our house, across the 91 Freeway in Yorba Linda, CA, is Java Joe’s,  a good old fashioned coffeehouse, the kind that used to be common before Starbucks took over the caffeinated world.  Beyond my knee-jerk dislike of things trendy, I have nothing against Starbucks.   They make fine coffee and many people seem to enjoy the ambiance of their coffeehouses and the friendliness of their baristas.  And that is part of the problem.  Most of our local Starbucks are rather small places full of people chatting up each other and the friendly baristas. Not  good place for reading, contemplation or quiet conversation.  Java Joe’s is an expansive space with comfortable chairs and sofas spaced far enough apart that everyone doesn’t have to be involved in everyone else’s conversation, which is why Muri and I like it for an afternoon coffee date.  We arrived last Friday pleased to find only a few people inside.  We ordered our coffee.  I settled into one the easy chairs in the corner and logged onto the free wireless.   We stayed for fifteen minutes.

Why?  Because one of the several people in Java Joe’s was a Talker.   Fifty-something, I would guess, she was regaling the young man at her table … and the barista behind the counter … with her opinions on everything from movies to bringing up children.  She went on non-stop, occasionally allowing her audience a brief comment that sent her off onto another tangent.   Her volume and her tone clearly showed that she thought everyone in the place could benefit from her wisdom.   Now, if she only annoyed me, I’d rack it up to my Inner Curmudgeon but she was bothering Muri, who can usually tune out others, as well.  She has One of Those Voices, Muri said.  I am continually amazed at how much some people can talk and while it’s cute in my four year old grand daughter, Savannah, I tend to avoid chatty adults.  And cell phones have produced a whole new class of Talker.  The man shown on the right is at my park every morning, walking his bear … er, Newfoundland dog. He usually passes by my car three or four times each day and he is always on the phone.  Not just on the phone … talk-talk-talking away.   So, OK, it’s Top Sites Tuesday #162 – where I get to offer Two Thoughts on Tuesday, and here’s Number OneHow can anyone talk so much?  Don’t they ever want to hear what someone else has to say?

Now, don’t get me wrong.  You can probably guess that I can talk when I need to.  One of my skills is that I can give a speech or a presentation on a topic at very short notice.  I occasionally speak at a 12-Step meeting which requires that I share for an hour and a rarely plan what I’ll say.  I can do the small talk bit at meetings or parties, too, but my natural inclination is not to be a Talker.   It’s interesting, though.  You may have noticed I can go on and on (and on and on) as a Blogger.  And I suppose I sometimes sound as if everyone could benefit from my wisdom.  Occasionally, if a topic I’ve blogged about comes up in conversation, I’m very well prepared but it seems to me that for the most part, I talk less since I’ve been a consistent Blogger.  That made me wonder … Thought Number Twois there any correlation between being a Blogger and a Talker.   Does blogging make Bloggers in general less talkative or is it just me?   Or … those of you who know me in person … am I delusional, do I talk more than ever?  I’d like to know what you think.   And I’d like you to push my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #162 before you go.  Then I’ll shut up, I promise.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: curmudgeonly rants

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Talkers and Bloggers”

  1. Cheryl P. Says:

    I don’t think there is a correlation between the amount a person talks in “real” life and their blogging habits.

    I write expansively…wordy for sure ….but I am a quiet person usually unless I am with a close friend or family member and we are talking about something that requires a dialogue. Even then I tend to be more interested in what is going on with them as I already know what is going on with me and it’s all rather dull.

    Click

    PS It is getting hard to find quiet spots to have a beverage because everyone is needing hotspots to keep their Internet free esp. business people that try not to have to buy wireless Internet cards.

  2. territerri Says:

    Interesting theory. I think there may be something to it. I have never been much of a talker. I don’t do small talk very well unless someone else leads the conversation. And I definitely don’t do speeches or presentations comfortably. BUT… I can go on endlessly when it comes to blogging. And I’ve sometimes even wondered if blogging has contributed with my issues with talking.

    On the other hand, put me with someone I’m really comfortable with and we’ll both be fighting for the space to express ourselves.

  3. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    I have to agree with Cheryl I don’t think they go together – Talking and Blogging habits.
    I am usually not to talkative unless I am with a friend were we are engaged in a discussion on a particular subject that we get real involved with.
    I can’t stand it when a person comes into a restaurant or coffee house and is so loud… It’s as if they have to engage the whole place. Or the person who acts like the world evolves around them in an establishment while talking on their cell phone. It’s like they want everyone to think they are so important… Maybe it’s a self esteem thing.

    Have a great week
    Wolf

  4. Trina Says:

    I’m a talker. I enjoy the quiet most of the time, but I like conversation. Maybe it’s my salesperson coming out – I tend to talk more on the job or around other professionals in fields I’m enlightened in… I don’t talk to hear myself talk, but I feel the need to get things off my chest. Sometimes it requires a phone call (texting tends to lose a little in inflection and result in many misunderstandings)

    I like to meet new people and express my enthusiasm over something and I love hearing about their trials and tribulations and travels and experiences and religion and…. well…. yeah…

    I try to make sure that I never annoy someone. But sometimes that darn soapbox comes out LOL

    Clicks!
    –Trina


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 649 other followers

