Supersition

When you believe in things that you don’t understand, Then you suffer, Superstition ain’t the waySuperstition by Stevie Wonder

If you’re a regular here, you know … in general, Older Eyes hates commercials.  Older Eyes especially hates beer commercials.   But I am a reasonable man and, every once is a while, when a blind squirrel finds a nut, I’m willing to acknowledge it.   I love the current Bud Light commercials featuring the peculiar little superstitions of sports fans.  This is my favorite … the expression on the face of the skeptic when the field goal is good is priceless.

These commercials work because most sports fans really do have superstitions they have believe will help their team win.   So here it is, Top Sites Tuesday #186 where we offer Two Thoughts on Tuesday and and I’m thinking … forbud trojan Oneabout my little sports superstitions.   I’ve been known to wear the same USC shirt for every football game when the Trojans are on a winning streak.  I wear my UConn National Championship hat when March Madness rolls around and my lucky Lakers hat during lakersthe NBA finals.  In the name of propriety, I won’t discuss my lucky underwear, but all have done their job, as the championship banners show.  This year, however, every time I watch one of my teams, they lose.  My USC Trojans were ranked number one preseason, only to finish 7-7.   The Lakers are in disarray.  Last week, I watched my last best hope, the #1 University ofUconn Connecticut Women’s Basketball team for the first time this year and they lost their first game.  Now I’m afraid I’m a jinx.   So, here’s Thought Number TwoI’m renting myself out for $100 a game plus travel expenses.  You provide the beer, the pizza, a few wings and the large screen TV.   I’ll watch your favorite team play and root for their opponent.  It’s a sure thing.

So, are there any takers?   Payments are accepted via PayPal.  Just leave your contact information in my contacts section and I’ll get back to you.  And, while you’re at it, please click on my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #186.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Supersition”

  1. cherperz Says:

    Haha…I would gladly pay your expenses here and provide pizza and beer if I thought you rooting against the opponents of the KC Chief would result in them winning a game. We all know nothing can save them this season.

    It’s a good thing that you occasionally post a commercial or two as I never would otherwise see them.

    Click


  2. You should see “Silver Linings Playbook.” There’s a strong theme of superstition running through it – along with a lot of other things I think you’d really enjoy as a deeper soul. For the record: I object to the continuing stereotype of Eagles fans as crazy/violent, but beyond that – good flick. You’d really like it. Muri probably would, too.

  3. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    Those are great commercials. I don’t get much TV out here so I wouldn’t have seen them if you didn’t share them.

    As I’m not a superstitious sports fan I’d be like the guy in the second commercial with a totally surprised face when it works.

    Clicks!
    Wolf

  4. Trina Says:

    Great commercials! Just watching them makes me want a beer though…

    Thank you for leaving out the bit about lucky underwear… I’m sure you wash them… wait.. I don’t want to know…

    On the boat, Wolf and I never go sailing without the bible his parents gave him. When we do it’s disastrous. So we never leave home, or port, without it.

    Happy Tuesday!
    –Trina


  5. Personally, I am not very superstitious. But, I do enjoy a commercial every once in a while.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

