Monday Smiles – 1/28/2013

contrarianMost of my adult years, I have been a Green Bay Packers fan, even though I was born and raised in Connecticut, lived on my own in Boston, and first lived in Rhode Island after getting married.  There is no reasoning behind my choice of pro football teams … it is a result of the contrarianism of my youth.  Everyone in Connecticut seemed to be a New York Giants fan so Older Eyes (Younger then) decided to root for the Giant’s rivals at the time, the Packers.   If you come around Bud’s Blog frequently, you probably know that I am a (big) Lakers fan, which would seem to make sense, since I live in Socal and until this year, there was only one functional pro basketball team in L.A.   Wrong.  I became a Lakers fan in college when everyone in my fraternity rooted for the Celtics.  My roommate, Jon (also a contrarian) and I therefore chose to cheer for their arch-rivals, the Los Angeles Lakers.  So, I’ve been a Lakers fan for almost fifty years.

If you are a sports fan, you may know that after putting together a team that was expected to be wonderful, the Lakers are in disarray near the bottom of their division standings.  If you read my post, Superstition, you know that all my teams are in disarray, but that’s another story.   Karma … Kontrarian Karma … has also caught up with me.  That other L.A. team, the Clippers, are doing very well and my son, even more the contrarian than I was, has decided he is a Clippers fan.  While I’m downstairs, watching my Lakers stumble again, I can hear him shouting Yeah !!! in his room as Chris Paul scores again in the clutch.  He tries hard not to gloat or talk about his team too much, but I know, that’s hard for a contrarian.   I had to threaten him with a permanent McRib diet to get him to stop.

smiles

So, while I had lots of things to smile about this weekend, my biggest smile was for what we sports fans call a signature win by my Lakers over the Oklahoma City Thunder, the team with the best record in the NBA, 105-96.  It was so freakin’ nice to sit in front of the TV yelling Yes !!!! as Kobe hit a clutch three-pointer to clinch the win.   It only made it a little sweeter that the Clippers were on a four game losing streak.

I know, I know.  It’s only one win.  It’s a long trip to even making the playoffs. Yes, it’s only basketball.  But sometimes an old guy whose teams are on a losing streak just needs a win.  It’s Monday … I’m smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 1/28/2013”

  1. Coming East Says:

    I’m not much of a sports fan except when it comes to college basketball, men as well as women. Then I can be heard yelling for or at my UConn Huskies. I used to be a Spurs fan because we lived in San Antonio for so long, but now I don’t watch pro ball anymore.


  2. I don’t follow any sports, but HOORAY for your team winning!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 650 other followers

