The Right Place at the Right Time

park sunriseI have a friend who has managed a number of very successful companies that were built from the ground up by their owners.   He tells me that very often, these owners are hard to deal with because they think they are geniuses when in fact, they just happened to be in The Right Place at the Right Time.  Whether you call it luck or synchronicity or divine guidance, it does seem that success is frequently as much due to circumstances as it is to brilliance.  But how many men want to admit it?

Occasionally, when I’ve been going through a difficult time in my life, I’ve had some well meaning soul tell me we’re always in The Right Place at the Right Time.  On Ezine Articles, life coach Chandra Alexander agrees. What is true is always true, she says. We either believe we are always in the right place at the right time, or we do not. We can’t have it both ways.  Alexander claims that only by believing we are always in the right place at the right time can we put our intellect to rest and be in the moment.   To my mind, Chandra is wrong.  It is not only possible but reasonable to notice that sometimes we are in The Right Place at the Right Time … and indeed, sometimes we are at the wrong place at the wrong time.  Isn’t it intellectually dishonest to say that the child who steps off the curb as the bus comes around the corner is in the right place?   To me the notion that is both honest and allows mindfulness is this: We are always in the only place at the only time.  This moment is what we have.  Peace comes through accepting what is and noticing how often, in large ways and small, we are in The Right Place at the Right Time.   Thursday evening, I took my walk in the park right at sunset which put me on the bridge by the lake just in time to take this picture.

park sunset

The Right Place at the Right Time

Have a good Sunday.  And take time to notice.

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The Right Place at the Right Time”

  1. cherperz Says:

    I am glad I spotted your post before I got off the computer to go to church this morning. I will have time to think about it during the lulls at church (oh yeah, there are always lulls and my mind has to go somewhere).

    I agree with you. I don’t believe we are always in the right place at the right time. Life is full of wrong turns putting us in a place we aren’t meant to be. Then it becomes our choice (free will) as to redirect ourselves or not. I have to think some of the situations I have been placed in brought out some strengths but I could have chosen a different path and become weaker…or broken.

    I can’t tell you the number of times people have said, I should of not survived my childhood or be broken by it. I chose a different path and came out fine. (maybe not totally unscathed but I have a good life) Back to your thought though. I wasn’t in the right place at the right time because other people share our planet. Could anyone imagine the children of Sandy Hook were in the right place? NO and neither was the gunman.


  2. “We are always in the only place at the only time.  This moment is what we have. ”

    Yes. Yes. Yes.

    And that is an absolutely beautiful photo. How inviting and peaceful.

  3. territerri Says:

    I have to agree with you. I don’t think that every place we are is always the right place. That falls to close to the line of thinking that everything that happens is God’s plan. I don’t think everything that happens is designed by God, but that he helps us deal with each thing as it comes along.

    Your view from the bridge by the lake, though certainly provided you one of those pay attention and take notice kind of moments.


  4. Definitely have to agree with Terri’s logic and also with yours, Bud, about being in the right place at the right time to get that picture! Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

