Friday Favorties 3/8/2013

favoritesI started this post Thursday afternoon.   It was going to be about country music, starting out with a bit about the odds that Muri will have country station in the car.  One paragraph in, as sense of deja vu set in, so I searched my previous posts … I’d already written it last August, featuring Kathy Mattea as my Friday Favorite.  Funny.  This time it was going to be Trisha Yearwood.   Still fickle all these years.  Anyway … delete paragraph.  Then I started on a post about those long-gone years when I was a runner.  I thought I’d talk about my favorite marathon, which would give me a chance to feature a picture of my in-shape former self.  Just to be sure, though, I searched my former posts under marathon … and found that I’d already written that post back in 2010 as In the Long Run.  Feel free to check me out there.  Anyway, a hazard of having posted 132 Friday Favorites … and having a 68-year old brain … is that sometimes when a great idea for a post pops into my head, it’s a freaking rerun.

So, at 8:30 am, I’m favoriteless.  Or at least without a favorite that anyone would want to hear about.  You know what I mean … favorite jeans, favorite toothpaste, favorite mouthwash.  I have a business call at 10:00 and I’m getting desperate.  How about favorite comedian?  Bill Cosby?  Steve Martin?  Billy Crystal?  Rita Rudner?  Not today … too much research, not enough time (is there ever?).  Today, I offer you the finest magician in the world … The Great Flydini.

Of course, The Great Flydini is Steve Martin performing on the The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson.   Between 1962 (the year I graduated from high school) and 1992, The Tonight Show showcased stand-up comedians, both established and up-and-coming, almost nightly.   This hysterical magic routine is this week’s Friday Favorite.  Have a good weekend … and keep smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Friday Favorties 3/8/2013”

  1. cherperz Says:

    That was fun to watch. I remember bits and pieces of that skit but not all of it.

    I was a huge Johnny Carson fan. I hated it when he retired.

    I have only been blogging for two years and a month but I occasionally think of doing a post that is on a topic that I have already used. What I find, though is I would now do it differently. The first year of blogging came with a big learning curve. My blog remains a work in progress…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 649 other followers

