Monday Smiles – 5/6/2013

rainy dayThis was what I would call an easy weekend.  No big deals, no big events.  No fancy restaurants.  Two movies, one Friday night and on Saturday.  Both long, atmospheric (artsy for sometimes slow), and very well acted.  The Place Beyond the Pines is a karma-filled saga of how the crimes one man commits for his child affects both his family and the family of the police officer who apprehends him over the following years.  Mud is a coming-of-age story, sort of a Mississippi Delta Stand By Me, in which two teenage boys find an itinerant fugitive named Mud (played brilliantly by Matthew McConaughey) and attempt to help him reconnect with the love of his life.  Both well worth seeing … but the kind of films you find yourself thinking about afterward rather than walking out saying, Wow.  Saturday lunch in the park with Muri, followed by what passes for yard work these days, planting flowers and filling the bird feeders, then dinner at TGI Friday’s.   Some NBA Hoops on Sunday then more park timemr p with Muri and Salmon Tacos from the Fish Grill for dinner.  Yes, I posted both days.   It was rainy this morning and I was scheduled to meet a friend … someone I sponsor, actually … to walk and talk in the park at 8:00 am.  We got a little wet but it was nice and Socal really needs the rain.  Now, I’m sitting in my office and Mr. P, my son’s Siamese cat, is sitting on my desk, washing himself and hoping for an occasional scritch … which he’ll get.  I’ve got a little work to do and I’m expecting a phone interview for a new consulting opportunity.

I’m spoiled.   There’s plenty to smile about but I woke up like the sky today, gray and cloudy.  Overcast.   When that happens, I need to write a gratitude list … which I just did (in case you didn’t notice) … then do something that makes me smile.  Feed Mr. P his morning snack and get a few loving head-butts.  Look at a picture of my grandkids, who I’ll be seeing later this week.

kidsthree

Put on some music that makes me smile.  How about Sara Smile, by Monte Montgomery with Daryl Hall?  Yessss.

It’s Monday.   I am lucky to be alive.   I’m smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 5/6/2013”

  1. territerri Says:

    Thanks for the movie recommendations!

    Maybe there was something in the air this weekend. I had every reason in the world to feel bubbly and happy, but I felt a bit like you – gray and overcast.

    Do you think maybe it was the lack of big deals and big events that put you in your mood?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers

