Monday Smiles – 6/10/2013

But let there be spaces in your togetherness, And let the winds of the heavens dance between youKahlil Gibran on Marriage in The Prophet

carsus

If you were a daily denizen of Yorba Regional Park in Anahiem Hills, you’d probably see this sight two or three times a week, my car and Muri’s car parked side by side in the parking lot near the lake.  On the particular day this photo was taken, I’d finished my bike ride and was sitting at a picnic table writing.  Muri was off on a morning walk.   On another day we might be walking together or sitting in the shade reading.   She might be walking with a friend.  Or we might be sitting, each in our own cars, writing in our notebooks.  Why do we each drive our own cars?  Well, let’s see.   I like to get up in the morning and go right to the park … Muri likes to do her chores first.   We’ve each got things to do.   I decide to relax in the park when I’m done and there’s Muri’s silver Accord, already parked in the shade.  Or I park by the lake and settle in my canvas camp chair under the big Sycamore and before long, in rolls Muri.   Sometimes, I wonder if people think we’re having an affair.  Two older people show up in separate cars, kiss, then walk off holding hands.

Maybe it looks that way because Mr. Gibran was onto something when he wrote of marriage back in 1923.   He also said:

Love one another, but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

Perhaps such wisdom is the reason The Prophet is one of the best selling books of all times, over 100 million copies sold.  Or perhaps not … look at the divorce rate.  But going on 45 years together, the wind certainly dances between us on an almost daily basis and it’s served us well.   Today’s smile is the one a wear when I arrive the park and I see Muri’s car tucked under the sycamore tree and when I’m sitting in my camp chair and look up to see her Accord at the park gate.  It’s the smile I wear when I cruise by on my old Panasonic bike and she gives me a little wave from her car … or when she interrupts my writing with a little whistle as she walks by.  It’s Monday.  Today’s our day to deliver Meals on Wheels (a former Monday Smiles).   But the odds are even that we’ll end up in the park … and 3 in 7 that we’ll be in separate cars.  Life is good. I’m smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Monday Smiles – 6/10/2013”

  1. Rick Gleason Says:

    Very touching entry Bud. You are a very lucky man, and Muri a very lucky woman. I laughed and I cried …


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 634 other followers

