Monday Smiles – 9/9/2013

plummerJack London has said that You can’t wait for inspiration.  You have to go after it with a club.   Smiles have been scarce around Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog for a while, and to steal Mr. London’s theme … You can’t wait for smiles.  You have to go after them with a Date.  And with the help of my favorite half-price ticket broker, Goldstar, I was able to find tickets to a production of Funny Girl at our local Plummer Auditorium.  Now, if you’ve been coming around for a while, you know that I can be a bit of a theater snob when in comes to local productions, especially local productions of musicals, and most particularly local productions of musicals that starred icons like Barbra Streisand.  But the 3D Theatricals presentation was very professional and well cast … and while Nicole Parker, who played Fanny Brice, wasn’t exactly Barbra, she was excellent.

If you remember, Funny Girl is the story of Fanny Brice, a singer-comedian who became a star in the Ziegfeld Follies, in spite of the her less than star-like appearance.  In perhaps the funniest production of the show, a tribute to brides featuring dozens of beautiful women, Fanny Brice appears as a pregnant bride, horrifying Zigfeld but delighting the audience.  This is the number from the film starring Barbra Streisand.

Hilarious.    It was a perfect smile-filled evening for Muri and I.   It’s Monday.  Muri’s still singing Don’t Rain on My Parade … and I’m still smiling.  Have a good week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 9/9/2013”


  1. Smiles have been a bit on the scarce side here too, especially over the past two weeks as I waited -and WAITED -still waiting -for a phone call about an appointment I need to have a needle biopsy done. Last word I heard on Friday about this is that the hospital I had initially been told where this could be done-about 45 miles from where I live -just informed my oncologist’s office staff that they can’t do the biopsy there and that I need to see a gynocology-oncologist and have said biopsy done down in Pittsburgh! Only took the staff at that hospital almost 3 weeks to realize they couldn’t do the biopsy there! However, as I typed this -things are looking up as my oncologist’s nurse just called to tell me she got me an appointment with the doctor in Pittsburgh that had done my last surgery, three years ago and she got it on a day my daughter, the one who will be my chauffeur, was hoping for and at a time of day that won’t require we leave here at the crack of dawn (or earlier) to be there for the appointment! Yep. Things are definitely looking up this morning anyway! Hope your day and weeks ahead too now keep those Monday smiles coming!

    • oldereyes Says:

      Sorry to hear things aren’t great in you neck of the woods either. I hope all goes well with your biopsy. I will keep the Monday Smiles coming … it’s a great way to start the week even if it takes a little effort.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 663 other followers

