Monday Smiles – 9/23/2013

grinnerI have always found people who go around with a perpetual smile pasted on their face annoying.  I find it disingenuous, or, if you’d like a nickel word instead of a five dollar one, phony.  I even have a nickname for such people.  I call them Grinners.  I’m usually inclined to think that Grinners are out to sell me something … their brand of spirituality, their brand of insurance or just the notion that they are happier than I am.  But that’s more about me than them.  The truth is that I can’t force a smile.  Well, I can but when I do, I look goofy, not happy.  But since I’ve never wanted to be a Grinner, it didn’t bother me.

Now, an article in the Wall Street Journal titled Stress-Busting Smiles suggests that the Grinners may be onto something.  Everyone knows that happiness makes us smile … perhaps not that smiling may make us happier.  There is evidence that the muscle movements used in the act of smiling trigger responses in the brain that lower heart rate and stress levels.  The study suggests that since smiling indicates we are not threatened, over time, the brain evolved to respond by generating certain stress-reducing hormones.  OK, being happy … hence smiling … reduces stress.  BFD, right?  Here’s the odd part.  In experiments where participants facial expressions were manipulated using chopsticks … without the participants being aware of their expressions … those with smiles showed some of the same benefits of real smiles.  And while a big smile had more effect than a polite smile, both had benefits.  The article also says that Studies have found that the intensity of a person’s smile can help predict life satisfaction over time and even longevity Well, damn.

I’m lucky, I suppose.  I have a zillion things to make me smile, from the still-sleeping face of my wife in the morning when I wake to the arrival of our cat, Mr. P, in my office.  In the park, a bluebird or a squirrel or the passing of a familiar dog-walker gives me a smile, and in the car it’s often the song on the radio or a sunset no one else seems to notice.  But it’s usually a happy little grin, not a big smile.  Maybe it’s time for a change, to push it a little.  It’s Monday.  I’m headed to the park.  I’ll be the guy at the picnic table by the lake with Acoustic Alchemy playing on his mp3 player.  I’ll be writing in my journal, watching the bluebirds and gnatcatchers, and occasionally chatting with the squirrels or waving to another park regular.  I’ll be smiling.  A big goofy smile.

Why not join me?

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 9/23/2013”

  1. Muri Says:

    :)))))))))))!


  2. What I found interesting as I read this was the thought that occurred: that now that I work in a less tense and serious atmosphere, I probably smile more (running into a lot more people helps that), and I’m happier in my work. I don’t know if they’re related, but while I think being happier in my work makes me smile more, maybe it’s vice-versa.

  3. territerri Says:

    I find it hard to smile when I’m not really feeling it. And the stubborn side of me gets great pleasure from scowling when I’m not feeling happy. (Hence the nice frown line between my eyebrows.) Over the past few months I’ve felt myself “sinking” a little bit. And I sort of gave into the feeling that I am just not easily happy for any extended period of time. Of course, this was all likely helped along by some unhappy events over the past few months that I just couldn’t let go of. So a week ago I decided to make weekly goals designed to boost my own spirits. A week later, I feel as if it is helping. So maybe the forced smile theory has some merit in this regard too. I’ll give it a try.

  4. humanlens Says:

    When I look at myself in the mirror sometimes and I look a bit grim, and moreose, a big smile, definitely forced, helps me to see the hilarity of my existence and loosen up a bit.

    The Mona Lisa has it down, so slight and subtle but evidently very content.

    I think anyway!

    Thanks for your reflections and insight.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 689 other followers

