Why Blog?

Of course, the inspiration for this post goes to this Direct TV commercial which is absolutely hysterical.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Why Blog?”

  1. cherperz Says:

    I just find it fascinating how often I open your blog to find it is written on the same subject as one of my “posts waiting to be launched”. This seems to happen a lot with you and rarely with other bloggers.

    Sometimes I just scrap my version. More often than not you have done a much better job articulating the subject. However, at some point I will publish my post on blogging though, as I took quite a different tact.

    It is interesting how a person starts thinking about their surroundings with the point of view…How can I turn this into something to blog about?

    As far is the “why blog” I struggle with that from time to time. It has it’s pros and cons.

    • oldereyes Says:

      Oh, I struggle, but it was a commercial after all. I often gripe about how few comments I get or about how many of my views are for ancient posts I didn’t even like when I wrote them. But the whole process keeps me mentally sharp … and when a post really works, I love it.


  2. Hi Bud,

    I love the video, that was awesome! Ineeded a good laugh today 🙂

    I think EVERYONE should blog 😉

    Clicks,
    Wolf


  3. Awesome! I love all your reasons for “Why Blog?” Although I’m not sure why I started blogging or why I’ve slacked off, I do find it a wonderful place to share thoughts, experiences and rants with the world.

    Your video is soooo funny, I hope your grandsons don’t have dog collars LOL

    Clicks for you,
    –Trina

  4. territerri Says:

    You must have Direct TV. I’ve never seen photos of your grandkids in dog collars! 🙂

    Love your “Be Happier” version of the commercial.

    • oldereyes Says:

      I love the expression on the grandfather. I can sort of imagine what it would be like from the time when my son-in-law wanted to name their first boy “Ace.”


  5. I do love those DirecTV ads. They’re very clever. You did a very good job applying it to blogging… and your recent semi-low mood. Better make sure Reed and Maddox aren’t hiding any animal fashion! Fun post – thanks for the smile!


  6. Sounding like a cranky old lady, well my back hurts and I am recovering from the flu. But couldn’t laugh at the video. Sighed instead, felt for the grandfather and am grateful my grands are being raised by a geekier crowd. Life will go on however.

    • oldereyes Says:

      I’m sure it wouldn’t be funny if I were the grandfather. But the commercial has great comic rhythm and the characters really fit the part, especially the daughter. Feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

