Busy

I have always had more interests than time.  I also discovered in my late forties that I’m high maintenance … fortunately for Muri, it’s high-self-maintenance.   I have a somewhat dark personality and it is only through a a number of practices like reading, journaling and meditation that I can stay a reasonably happy man.  As a result, for most of my working years I was a night-owl and an early-riser just to get everything in.  So, here on Top Sites Tuesday #161, Thought Number One is this: When I retired I wasn’t worried about what to do with my time but I had no idea I’d be busier than ever.  As a retired guy, prioritizing my activities is completely up to me and after several years of trying, I still don’t have it down.  I’m always behind on something.  Right now, one of those things is reading my favorite blogs … and responding to the comments of my favorite readers.

Yesterday, Meleah of Momma Mia, Mea Culpa posted this on Facebook: I am dedicating my whole day to reading, commenting, and catching up, with ALL of the blogs I haven’t had a chance to read over the past two weeks.  And assuming it’s not against the rules to borrow a thought, that’s my Thought Number Two.   I’m taking Tuesday off to catch up.  If you’re in need of something more inspiring than that, pick a blog from my Blogs I Read List and take a look.  But before you do, take a moment to push my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #161.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Busy”


  1. Bud, I am not “retired” but since I no longer work, I have also found myself busier than when I did have a full-time job.

    Awww…. yay. I’m glad YOU are taking the day to catch up with everyone too.

    I read 97 different blogs yesterday and it took ELEVEN hours, but, now that I am all caught up, I’m trying to STAY that way!

  2. Cheryl P. Says:

    You and I have the “busier than ever” in common. As I am not retired and presently am choosing not to work much (I am uber sick of real estate right now) I should have all the time to stay current on things. That is not the case. I have all kinds of projects going and can’t seem to get everything done that I want to get done.

    I, however, am very low maintenance. I know other women love to shop and buy things like shoes. Not me. I would be happy to live in jeans and flip flops, read, sew, blog, clean (I know it’s sick but I love to clean), visit places I haven’t been before or for that matter even places I have been, I love to hang out with Wayne even if we are just both sitting working on our computers.

    Real life gets in the way though. Keeping up with company bookwork, fighting the drought’s effects on our yard and gardens, getting one of the cars in the shop, showing a house and meeting someone for a final walkthrough. All of that I could live without.

    • oldereyes Says:

      I still have a little work and the truth is, what I do is fun. Unfortunately, my business partner is going through a disinterested phase, so if I let my enthusiasm carry me away, I end up doing all the work. So, I blog instead 🙂

  3. territerri Says:

    No, no, no… I do NOT want to hear that it gets HARDER to squeeze it all in when you’re retired (or semi-retired)! I am constantly looking to the future thinking that I’ll be finding MORE time, not less.

    Pushed your button! 🙂

  4. Trina Says:

    I’m with TerriTerri. Please don’t tell me it gets harder to have time to get things done! I’m already overwhelmed and was hoping for a break in the future… retirement sounds so nice and mellow….

  5. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud
    I really didn’t want to hear it gets harder to squeeze everything in I am having enough trouble now, well except when I goof off and go sailing. But now that I am back it’s hard to find the time to fit it all in and finish projects when I want to.
    I do like the idea of taking a day and visiting everyone, it has been some time since I have had a chance to do so.

    Have a great week, pushed your button too!
    Wolf

    • oldereyes Says:

      See my response to Trina. Once you are retired, everything is, in away, goofing off. And you get to do a lot of it, which is why you are busy.


Leave a Reply

