Friday Favorites 7/27/2012

I posted my first Friday Favorites almost two years ago.  It was a video of a song by the Atlanta Rhythm Section, So Into You … in my humble opinion, one of the sexiest rock and roll songs ever.   Since then I’ve featured favorite movies … art … colors … numbers … did I mention music?   What I’ve never featured for over one hundred Fridays was a repeat favorite.  I suppose you could claim that my choices have been Friday Like-A-Lots, that no one could have that many favorites but I’d beg to differ.  I have many interests, divided into many sub-categories and I have a favorite in each.   Well, today that streak ends.

Because we own a photograph by the amazing nature photographer and conservationist, Thomas Mangelsen, we receive a brochure from his Images of Nature Galleries showing his latest works several times a year.   Thomas Manglesen is quite simply my favorite photographer of any genre.   His work features both stunning photographs of animals in their natural habitat and brilliant landscapes, often with wildlife dotting the hills or hiding in the branches of trees.  He has been named Wildlife Photographer of the Year by the BBC and Outstanding Nature Photographer of the Year by the North American Nature Photographer’s Association.   On the cover of his latest brochure is a photograph of a sleeping lion cub titled, Catnap, that I just love.  Here it is, courtesy of his Images of Nature website.

In a way, this picture repeats three favorites … cats, big cats and Thomas Mangelsen.   Do yourself a favor and check out his latest work here  … and if you are ever near one of his Images of Nature Galleries, be sure to see his work in person and full size.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Friday Favorites 7/27/2012”

  1. territerri Says:

    I learn a lot from your Friday favorites and discover new interests as well. I downloaded “So Into You” after listening to it via your Friday Favorites. I had a vague recollection of hearing it before, but discovered I liked it well enough to add to my personal collection. I’ve discovered new artists, books, and movies thanks to you. So thanks for sharing your many favorites!


Leave a Reply

