Clouds

When I sat down in my recliner last night, there was a wonderful post on one of the ten sefirot, the divine attributes from the Kabbalah, bouncing around in my head, waiting to be written.  However, I was completely distracted by the Olympics, so you’re saved.   Instead you get a video.   On Clouds.  My Mom loved to paint clouds, although as I recall, she didn’t think she was very good at it.  As I recall, she was.   I think it’s the subtle change of color, whether it’s gray to white or to the oranges and pinks of a sunset, that make them perfectly suited to oil paints.  Have you ever watched them change overhead on a windy day, the way shapes (Mommy, it’s a giraffe!  No, it’s a kitty!) appear then morph into something else?   There is something about clouds that give me a sense of the infinite and lift my spirits.  Yet how many adults even bother to look up?   I found a post on healthyspirituality.org titled How to Become a Cloud Chaser.   In it, the author, Gene Wise, says:

·      Cloud chasing involves looking up. This physical act of raising the chin lifts the spirit and provides a momentary pause by focusing on new possibilities instead of our problems.

·      Cloud chasing invites us to look inward and to identify what is churning within our hearts.

·      Cloud chasing reminds us to look beyond our momentary problems and negative emotions. We find hope in knowing the sun does still shine on days when can’t see its light.

Nicely said.

I rarely go anywhere without a camera and you’re likely to see me stopped by the side of the road or standing in the park, lens pointed upward, trying capture a cloud that’s captured me.  This video is an assortment of photos I’ve been carrying around, set to subtle little rendition of Joni Mitchell’s Both Sides Now (Clouds) by guitarist Pat Martino.

Have a nice Sunday … and take a moment to look up.

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Clouds”

  1. granny1947 Says:

    Hi Bud…you will know from my photos that I, too, LOVE clouds!!!


Leave a Reply

