Friday Favorites 10/19/2012

Older Eyes has a new toy, a Roku HD Streaming Player.  Now, I know that the chances are most of you know what that is, but just in case, it’s a nifty little black box that connects my television to the internet, allowing me to stream videos … Netflix, HuLu, VuDu … and music, like Pandora.  And because I’m an Amazon Prime member, I can stream all of the movies and videos on Amazon’s extensive Prime Video list for FREE.  Of course, many of them are on the older side … and many of them I’ve seen.   But that’s just what I like for company as I sit in my recliner posting on Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog.   So for the last two weeks, I’ve been working my way though the Star Trek movies.  Last night, it was Star Trek II – The Revenge of Khan.

Now you might think that since I’m an engineer (and a computer geek besides) I’m what they call a Trekkie, one of those guys who not only loves everything Star Trek but dresses up like Spock and attends Star Trek conventions. Nope.  And you might think I’m going to make Star Trek my Friday Favorite.  Nope.  The truth is that although I could occasionally be sucked in by a Star Trek TV episode, I thought the stories were often contrived, the acting forced and, of course, the special effects prehistoric.   The movies certainly upgraded the special effects and the plots, and even the acting improved.  I’ve never been a fan of the Shatner persona and Leonard Nimoy will never win any acting awards.   The best film of the bunch may have been the 2009 version with Chris Pine as a young Kirk and Zachary Quinto as the younger Spock.

But Star Trek brought us perhaps the most interesting and enduring guy-friends in popular media, the passionate Captain Kirk and the half human – half Vulcan Spock trying to suppress his his human instincts and be completely rational … and, of course, the relationship between them as they gradually become fast friends.  Gradually … and with good-natured man-kidding … Kirk convinces Spock to sometimes take a less logical approach to life while Spock provides a logical balance to Kirk’s sometimes impulsive nature.   In this scene from the end of The Wrath of Khan, Spock has sacrificed himself to save the Enterprise and shows both his Vulcan and human sides as he says goodbye to Kirk* with his signature logical precept: The needs of the many out weigh the needs of the few … or the one.

There have certainly been plenty of videos and parodies suggesting that Kirk and Spock are not just guy-friends but gay-friends (see here , for example), which never occurred to me.  I suppose we see what we want to see but to my mind, that’s a product of how uncomfortable we are with close friendships between men that go beyond back-slapping.  In my years in engineering, I’ve certainly played Kirk to a number of Spocks.  And the relationship between Kirk and Spock seems a perfect metaphor for the struggle many men experience as they try to deal with their emotions.   So, there you go … perhaps my most peculiar Friday Favorite.  Just don’t call me a Trekkie.

* This being the movies, Spock isn’t dead for long.   His body is jettisoned to a planet created by the Genesis Device which reorganizes matter into a life-supporting matrix that creates habitable world.   He is found in Star Trek III – The Search for Spock.  Go figure.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Friday Favorites 10/19/2012”

  1. cherperz Says:

    I bought a blue ray player to stream movies to the TV probably 3 months ago and still haven’t even tried it. The guy that hooked it up showed me how it works and it looks easy enough, its just that with ON DEMAND, I haven’t had a time that I was searching for a movie to watch.

    As for you not wanting to be called a Trekkie, clearly you are as who would know this stuff, if you weren’t.

    I watched about the first season because my brother liked it and back then we were lucky enough to have one TV. The minute,,,no the second he left for Viet Nam, Star Trek never saw the light of day at our house. I was more a Laugh In kind of person which came on the same night. (Monday). They moved Star Trek to Friday as to avoid the fall out but I wasn’t a big enough fan to care. I didn’t realize Spock died and was resurrected. The only reason I remember the Monday conflict is that my guy friends couldn’t bear that I would choose Laugh In over Star Trek.


  2. I am OBSESSED with my Roku HD Streaming Player. I have Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, Crackle all streaming through it. There is NEVER a shortage of television and/or movies around here!


  3. PS: William Shatner STILL rocks!!

  4. territerri Says:

    I didn’t know what the streaming player was, so I appreciate the explanation. We have a Wii and a blue-ray player so we can access Netflix. I’d be afraid if the men in this house had any further access to television and movie choices. No one might ever move off the couches and recliners and get anything else done.

    I am discovering and rediscovering several great t.v. series though. I’ve watched most of Mad Men, some of Breaking Bad and have just begun to revisit Freaks and Geeks. I love that I can watch according to my schedule instead of a network schedule.

    P.S. The geeks in Freaks and Geeks are Trekkies and are pretty funny when they do their Capt. Kirk impressions.


Leave a Reply

