The Pendulum

When Fox News called the election for President Obama Tuesday night, I received several frantic text messages from my Romney-supporting friends.  What the hell? How did this happen? one said, the answer, of course being that the American people have spoken.   Another threatened to move to another country, while still another complained about the electoral system, since Mr. Romney was leading the popular vote at the time.   If you have been here a few times, you can probably guess that I am disappointed with the result of the presidential election and that is all I’ll say about that here.   If you want to hear more on my political views, you’ll have to go to my other blog, Bud’s Political Rants.  Only kidding.  There is no such blog because I don’t discuss partisan politics.  I do however, discuss the nature of politics in the U.S.A. and what I see as the nature of the country I love.

In response to my frantic political texters, I replied, The strength of our country is that it weathers the swings in political power.  It will be OK.  An advantage of having sixty-eight years on this planet … as an American citizen … is that I’ve seen The Pendulum swing, left and right, sometimes very left and very right.  I contend we are a moderate country but not because we are made up of mostly of moderate citizens.  As the elections have shown, much of our electorate leans significantly left or right with a fairly small middle that starts The Pendulum swinging back when it goes too far one way or the other.   While I may be unhappy with decisions made in the next four years, I know how this works.

I wish that we could sometimes find the middle through compromise between the political factions, but how can that happen after an election in which the President of the United States spent most of the last month calling his opponent a liar, as well as an assortment of childish names?  Or after the chairman of the Democratic Party asserted, on election day, that the only way Romney could win is if there was mass voting fraud?   How do we step back from the continual chant of Take Our Country Back by the people like Rush Limbaugh and Sean Hannity, as if it’s only Our Country when our side wins, or from accusations that the President is intentionally trying to weaken us?  How do we find the middle through compromise when much of the media engages in opinion disguised as reporting.  Sometimes, the partisan political landscape sickens me and at other times, it scares me.   Then I remember … sixty-eight years have shown me: The Pendulum will swing back, as pendulums are prone to do.  It will be OK.  It will be better than OK.  It will be My Country.

Explore posts in the same categories: perspectives

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The Pendulum”


  1. I never comment on anything related to politics, except to say that I have NEVER seen so many good people, behave so badly, like I did this year. And it’s enough already.


  2. Yours is the only post-election politics post I’ve read. You know me, and that’s saying something. I’m tired too… and I think we’ve all had enough. Thanks for a reasoned and calm set of thoughts.

  3. cherperz Says:

    I am making an exception to my never commenting on a political post but I agree with you whole-heartedly. You said it well. As Meleah, pointed out…people that should be setting an example as leaders acting like bratty children.

    • oldereyes Says:

      Thank you for making an exception by commenting on my exception on posting on politics. Sometimes, I just need to put on my Spandex Voice of Reason outfit.


Leave a Reply

