Friday Favorites 11/9/2012

Let me tell you about my Thursday.   Muri and I are refinancing our house and have locked in what we think is a very good rate.  In order to keep the rate locked, we need to close within thirty days, which means we are in the mad scramble stage, getting all our documentation into the finance company and having the house appraised.  So, I was up bright and early, searching through tax records and downloading statements while we waited for the appraiser to show up at 10:00.   At approximately 9:35, I noticed a reminder at the bottom of the list of documents required.  California law now requires installation of carbon monoxide alarms in all structures.   Appraiser will inspect alarm installation and appraisal will not be accepted without them.  Shit.  I jumped in the car, drove to Home Depot and purchased the required three alarms, then set the American Record for Rapid Alarm Installation.   The appraiser hardly looked at them.  The rest of the day was spent scanning documents and shipping them off to the finance company.  Productive but nerve-wracking.

So, do you ever have one of those days when you find yourself 50% cranky because things aren’t going your way and 50% melancholy because you know you’re a lucky person who hadn’t oughta be cranky? On days like that, wouldn’t you love to have an old friend, one you hadn’t thought about in years, stroll up and say, Remember me?  Well, that didn’t happen.  But as I headed off to my Thursday Night Men’s Meeting, I did  have the sense to turn on Sirius XM radio.  And before I was halfway down the hill, and a long forgotten song turned up, a romantic fantasy about a tourist in an exotic market, swept away by a mysterious woman in a silk dress silk dress running like a watercolor in the rain.

Forgotten songs can be like old friends, can’t they?  I remember you, I said.  It was 1976, wasn’t it?  I’ve missed you.  Then I turned it up all the way.  I offer you the chance to do the same.  Enjoy the pictures painted by the Al Stewart’s The Year of the Cat, inspired by the 1942 film, Casablanca.  If you’ve got time, stick around for the long solo that includes cello, violin, piano, acoustic guitar, distorted electric guitar, synthesizer, and saxophone.  You might recognize the distinctive acoustic guitar as that of Peter White, who has moved on to be one of my favorite smooth jazz guitarists.   I hope this old friend of mine lifts your mood as much as it lifted mine.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Friday Favorites 11/9/2012”

  1. Cheryl P. Says:

    I admire your capacity to shrug off your irritations with the aid of a song. As I am a Realtor, I deal with appraisers all the time..and mortgages too, for that matter. Even when it’s not my own home, I find that process irritating. Between the bureaucracy and the inefficient processes, it generally makes me cranky.

    On a positive note..kudos on the great rate.


Leave a Reply

