On Blogging … and Being Read

I know people who, when asked, Why do you write? answer, Because I have to.  Even though I love writing, I’m apparently not one of those people.  I dabbled in fiction writing for years without ever becoming fully committed to regular writing.  Oh, yeah, I’d commit to writing four nights a week and it would last a while, sometimes months.  I’ve recommitted myself more times than I’d care to count.  I have notebooks and computer files of essays written with the same semi-disciplined schedule.  And yet, since starting a blog, I find myself sitting down at the keyboard almost every day, posting something.  Like today.   It’s Top Sites Tuesday, the meme where we offer Two Thoughts on Tuesday, and to be totally honest, I’m starting out with nothing to say.  Yes, I find it hard to believe, too.  But here I am, writing.   So, Thought Number One is this: I’ve learned that while I’m not one of those people who have to write, having a blog provides me with the discipline to want to write.  And it’s taught me the joy of starting out with nothing and ending up with a postable … if not brilliant … post.

But OK, I’ll admit, being read is part of it.   Several times a day, I check the notification bar on my WordPress Dashboard for Comments … Likes … New Subscribers.   And I count my Views, which have reached almost four thousand a month.   I told a non-blogging friend that I had almost four thousand views last month and he said, You have four thousand readers?   I laughed.  We all know that some percentage of our views are bots, those annoying little programs that visit our sites, sometimes leaving semi-literate comments.  And many views come from Search Engines.   The single most viewed post on Bud’s Blog is Connecting the Dots found by people searching for connect the dot puzzles.   They won’t find any in my post, just a philosophical post on the puzzles as a metaphor for life.  Probably not readers.   Another much viewed post is Fifty-Four Years Later, which is a humorous post about a phony secret admirer email I received from Lovebug1136.  Most times, it’s found by people Googling Lovebug1136, likely to decide (1) whether to respond to their secret admirer or (2) reformat their disc because they did respond.  If they read my post, they will find the information they seek … and some good natured-kidding besides.  The most common Search Terms used to find Older Eyes are old man’s birthday and old man’s shoes.  Readers?  Who knows?    But my point … and Thought Number Two … is that those of you who do read what you find here make my day, even when I don’t know who you are.  And, of course, I love my regulars.

So, if you’ve read this far … and you don’t feel like commenting … I’d ask you to do two things: (1) push my Like button so I know who you are; and (2) you push my Top Sites Tuesday button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #177.  Go ahead … make my day.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “On Blogging … and Being Read”


  1. I feel the same way only I do not have enough energy to write everyday especially the days I work at my real job that pays me. I really enjoy going around and reading other peoples posts and the latest fads, I just can not find the time to do this as much as I would like to.

    Here’s your click ……..

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  2. cherperz Says:

    Sometimes it’s just spooky how you and I come up with similar topics. Late last night, I typed a post about blogging and why I started it and what I have learned over the last couple of years some of which I wish I would of known on the front side. You make a couple of the same points that were contained in my post. Unfortunately, this morning when I re-read the post, I felt like I had rambled more than usual (which is a lot) and wasn’t particulaly clear with what I was trying to say….so…. I hurriedly typed the one that is posted today.

    As for posting as often as you do…never going to happen. I tend to write and rewrite. I am slow at drawing my cartoons and all and all it takes too much time to do on a daily basis.

    As for regular readers…that is one of the reasons I continue blogging. It’s hard to justify the time spent but, for me, the reward is the connection to people.

  3. cherperz Says:

    Oh..I did click the buttons

  4. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    I really wish I could find more time to write as I enjoy blogging so much. But it seems as though I always have too many irons on the fire getting in the way of me sitting down at the computer doing just that.

    You listed some of your top search keywords in your post and I find that one of the funniest and more popular on my blog was “farting reindeer” Years ago I posted something funny for Christmas that had to do with a farting reindeer and it’s been ever so popular since. LOL

    Have a great Tuesday! I hope I made your day, I liked your posted and clicked your button!

    Clicks!
    Wolf

  5. SandySays1 Says:

    My human shares the need. Sandy


  6. “I’ve learned that while I’m not one of those people who have to write, having a blog provides me with the discipline to want to write.  And it’s taught me the joy of starting out with nothing and ending up with a postable … if not brilliant … post.”

    I am one of those people who HAS TO write – because when I don’t I become incredibly irritable and moody. But I didn’t do very much writing over the summer. I took some much needed time off. And it was really hard to get back on track. In fact, it took at least a month to find my writing groove again. Also, don’t you love when you have NOTHING and it becomes something amazing?!

    • oldereyes Says:

      Let me clarify. I didn’t count journalling which I’ve more or less kept up for twenty years, more or less meaning more days than not. When I don’t do what I call my Morning Pages (after The Artist’s Way), I start a downward slide, too. Yes … when something amazing springs out of nothing it is amazing, even if not a soul reads it. Thanks for reminding me of that.


  7. Once again, we find ourselves alike. I have fallen slack recently in the blogging department as other life demands and events have pulled me away, but I do sometimes wish I could just sit and write something. Your posts almost always seem to be about reflections you make, and even if I don’t comment, I read and find something valuable in them. Glad you’re a writer. 🙂


Leave a Reply

