Thanksgiving Present

I am a very lucky man.  I am married to my college sweetheart, who remains the love of my life even in our sometimes cranky sixties.   I come from a loving family and married into another.  I have two children I love dearly and three grandchildren that simply light up my life.  I’ve had a successful career that’s allowed us to live comfortably in semi-retirement and both Muri and I have our health.   I have an eye (and an ear) for beauty and love to express it in words and art.   I don’t have a million friends but I have enough that I can count on when the skies darken.  I have found spirituality and faith in my sixties when for so many years it seemed unlikely.

You’d think with all that going for me, I’d be a perpetually happy man but, of course, I’m not.   The people in my life are not always doing what I see as best for them … and I worry or try to influence them.   I am not always doing what I see as best for me … and I worry and try to influence me.   Sixty-eight is not, believe me, the new forty-eight.   Some parts of me don’t work like they used to and other parts still work but ache after use.  I have enough older friends to know the road ahead can be tough, and while family, friends and faith can ease the load, tough is still tough.  Remembering to accept the things I cannot change is sometimes more than I can manage.

These days, we celebrate Thanksgiving with my daughter, her husband and the grandkids at their house in Gilbert, Arizona.  My daughter insists on doing almost everything but Muri is making a pumpkin pie because my grandson, Reed, says, Nana makes the best pumpkin pie.  So today is a day for remembering all I have to be thankful for … the many, many good things and the not-so-good that give me an opportunity to continue to grow at the fine age of sixty-eight.  Oh, yeah … did I mention grandkids?

Music: Kenny G and Louis Armstrong, What a Wonderful World

Explore posts in the same categories: family

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Thanksgiving Present”


  1. Oh Bud!!! How wonderful! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. cherperz Says:

    As always, very well put. My 87 year old friend, that I meet on Wednesdays for coffee, assures me that we continue to grow and change. She says a real change in perspective happens in one’s 80’s …guess we will see…or not. Time will tell.

    I, like you consider, myself a very fortunate person. Did I mention grandchildren???


  3. Grandchildren are the best -the absolute BEST -thing ever put on the planet! I had a great day today, cooking for two of my grandkids, two of my children and the girlfriend of one plus a young lady who is a friend of ours and her boyfriend also stopped by and shared a bit of our dinner too! And the grandkids though they had their standard requirement of mac’n’cheese, also ate quite well from the grown-up’s selection of food as well! So all was good in that aspect. The little grandson even thought to ask people at the table if they had anything they were thankful for today which I thought was really great for him to understand the true meaning of the day and sharing of what we have with others in our family as well as good friends too. So much that all of us have and for which we can and should be thankful and for all the blessings that have come my way, I am extremely thankful!

  4. territerri Says:

    Even amidst the difficulties, it’s obvious you have much to be thankful for. You have a beautiful family, Bud.


Leave a Reply

