Less Than Perfect

It’s Saturday night.  We had a very nice Thanksgiving, in spite of the fact that strep throat has been winding it’s way through my daughter’s family, hitting my grandsons, then settling into my daughter today.  The grandkids are sleeping in the second bedroom of our Little House in the Desert, both to give us a little more time with them before we leave and to give my daughter some rest.  They were a frenetic but cheerful distraction as I watched my USC Trojans end their disappointing season disappointingly by losing to the Fighting Irish.   I am sometimes a little embarrassed that I take my teams so seriously or that I let a bunch of soon-to-be millionaire college students ruin my evening but it seems to be who I am.  Passionate.  The ache of the loss was eased by a nice stiff Chivas on the rocks and a Lakers 115-89 victory.  And here I am, posting for Sunday with Angels and Demons on in the background.  It’s possible I have a man crush on Tom Hanks.  And I love the soundtrack.

Scribbled in the corner of my Morning Pages from Thanksgiving is a topic for my Sunday post, which is usually on spirituality.  Less Than Perfect, it says.  I’m sure it was a wonderful idea for a post but the problem is, it’s slipped away into one of those crevices in my sixty-eight year old brain.  What remains is a description of our Thanksgiving weekend.   But if there’s anything that sixty-eight years have taught me, it’s that it’s easy to appreciate perfect times, as rare as they are.  Sometimes, spirituality means appreciating Less Than Perfect, finding the diamonds in the dust … like those three beautiful children sleeping in our bedroom … or the chance to be here and help out our daughter when she’s sick.  In God’s Book of Life, it’s best to play our part as best we can, taking our happiness as it comes.  As Albert Camus said, You will never be happy if you search for what happiness consists of.  You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life.

I guess that’s good enough for tonight.

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Less Than Perfect”


  1. “But if there’s anything that sixty-eight years have taught me, it’s that it’s easy to appreciate perfect times, as rare as they are. Sometimes, spirituality means appreciating Less Than Perfect, finding the diamonds in the dust … like those three beautiful children sleeping in our bedroom … or the chance to be here and help out our daughter when she’s sick.”

    I love that, Bud.

    And you’re right. It’s easy to appreciate the “easy” – but it’s even better when you appreciate what’s NOT perfect.

  2. territerri Says:

    Your message here is a good one as we head into this holiday season. It’s too easy to have high expectations and dream up perfect images of the perfect holiday. Disappointment is inevitable when expectations are so high.

    Even though your holiday was less than perfect, I’m glad you were able to spend time with the ones you love and hope they are all feeling better soon.


Leave a Reply

