Christmas Covers

the ornamentOn approximately the day after Thanksgiving, Sirius XM radio converts one of my regular stations, Love Songs, to Holly, a 24/7 Christmas music station.  Between Thanksgiving and Christmas, that’s roughly 720 hours of music, and assuming that a typical song lasts four minutes, Sirius will play over 10,000 songs.   So, mixed with the classic Christmas songs I love are quite many Christmas Covers, versions of the originals by other artists.  Some aren’t badly done … the artist’s style just doesn’t fit the music.  And sometimes, the results are dreadful.   On this Top Sites Tuesday #182, I’ll offer you a few examples of each.

You’ve probably grown up hearing the fifties rock and roll Christmas hit by Bobby Helms, Jingle Bell Rock.  And if you didn’t see eighties rocker, Bill Idol, performing it, you’d probably say it’s an OK version.  But watching him prance merrily through the song is, I think, hysterical.

In the sixties, Motown groups regularly tried to crossover into non-Motown music.  Groups like The Supremes included songs from Broadway musicals on their recordings and many released Christmas albums.  But the Temptations soulful style just doesn’t work in this version of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.

If you look on lists of the worst Christmas songs (like Bad Christmas Music), you will find Wham’s Last Christmas on almost every list.  I’m not sure I agree that Wham’s version is so bad, but this cover by Taylor Swift makes me wonder if Kayne West wasn’t right.

Then, there’s Bob Dylan’s version of The Little Drummer Boy.   Would someone please pass the Sucrets?

Every once in while, though, an artist takes someone else’s Christmas standard and makes it their own.   I love when that happens.   As much as I like Bing Crosby’s classic version of I’ll Be Home for Christmas, I like Sarah McLachlan’s even better.

And I’d rather hear Diana Krall sing Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas than Judy Garland any day.

So, I guess I need Two Thoughts on Tuesday.  OK.  One: I hope you enjoyed this post.  Two: Have yourself a merry little Christmas.  Now, before you go, be sure to push my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #182.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: music

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Christmas Covers”


  1. […] Christmas Covers (oldereyes.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Cheryl P. Says:

    The Bob Dylan one is brutal. He really shouldn’t try to sing Christmas songs but I am not sure if Taylor Swift should either. She is really inconsistent. Some of her stuff is just so fun and memorable and other things just fall flat.

    The last two, I enjoyed. especially the Sarah McLachlan cover.

    Click.


  3. I see what you mean, they should stick to what they do best. Which for me is don’t sing at all. My children paid me not to sing to my grandchildren – they did not want them to be tone deaf.

    Here’s your click …………

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  4. liggybee Says:

    I love music, especially Christmas music! And it’s so refreshing to hear the same songs (classics) sung by different artists in their own merry way. I like Sarah McClachlan’s cover best of the ones you featured here. She has the most beautiful and angelic voice.

    Click!

  5. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    The Temptations version was aweful! I like Sarah McLaughlin’s music,she sings really nice.

    Clicks!
    Wolfbernz

  6. Trina Says:

    Great choices for bad covers! Watching Billy Idol sing a Christmas carol was odd but entertaining.

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!
    –Trina


Leave a Reply

