Friday Favorites 12/28/2012

cactus sunsetDuring the ten years after I retired from big industry in 1999, our consulting business was remarkably successful, allowing us to make several lifestyle changes that we are enjoying still.   One was a move from our home of 31 years in Yorba Linda, CA across the freeway into Anaheim Hills to the house our grandkids call The Big House.   It was Muri’s dream house, everything she wanted, and it had almost everything I wanted, too.  Except a view.  Yes, I admit, I can see the mountains from my home office window, which can be quite spectacular in the winter but I wanted a view from the yard.   When my daughter, her husband and grandson moved to Phoenix, AZ, and we purchase a two bedroom home in an Active Adult community in San Tan Valley, a view lot was a requirement.   The home our grandkids call The Little House overlooks the 15th fairway, and beyond that, the San Tan Mountains.  The yard faces West and the often-stunning desert sunsets.  One of my favorite things about being here is opening the blinds in the morning to enjoy the view while I have my coffee.

I bring this up because it’s been a chilly week here in San Tan Valley, at least by Arizona standards.   This morning, I woke early enough that when I opened the blinds the rising sun was illuminating the houses across the fairway in golden light and the grass dusted with frost.

desert frost

Our Little House has not been a good investment in the financial sense … you can’t see from the picture how far underwater it is.   However, it has paid dividends in other ways, like sunsets and sunrises.   And in the best way of all, when our grandkids spend the night … as they will tonight.

Have a good weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Friday Favorites 12/28/2012”

  1. nee Sama Says:

    Oldereyes, I enjoyed reading your blog. Thanks to my daughter who suggested I looked for other senior teenagers who also blog. I wish also that I knew what I know now about life… nostalgia, a tinge of regret.. maybe, but very happy to have had what I had. will come back here for some more reads!


  2. Children make a house a home but grandchildren make it into a castle! Where would we be, what would life be like without them? Don’t even want to think about things like that.


Leave a Reply

