Monday Smiles – 1/7/2013

park1One week into 2013, I have kept my New Year’s resolution to exercise 30 minutes a day.   Until I get myself into something that resembles decent shape, that exercise will consist of walking.  However, after years of running (before my knees deserted me), I can find walking pretty boring, even with the park creatures to spy on.  Consequently, I usually put on my ear buds and listen to something with a good beat to keep me going.  Saturday, I chose The Heart of Chicago.   One of the longest playing rock bands ever, Chicago’s most successful decade coincided perfectly with one of the happiest decades of our lives.   Young and successful, we had followed our best friends at the time, Don and Jackie, to California.  Several times a month, we would get together either at our house in Orange County or theirs in San Diego.  We hadn’t adopted our children yet but their two daughters, Debbee and Monica, were like family to us.  We ate together, drank together, took the kids to the park together, and went to concerts together … including Chicago.  And we talked and laughed late into the night as thirty somethings are inclined to do.   I can still miss our times together, particularly when I listen to Chicago.   Particularly when I hear this song:

It takes me back to a Saturday years ago in Presidio Park adjoining the beautiful Serra Museum near Don and Jackie’s home in San Diego.  presidioIt is one of those crystal blue summer days that San Diego is famous for and the green grass is dotted couples and families with kids on colorful blankets.   Debbee and Monica are probably playing nearby and there’s a good chance that Don and I are glazed with sweat from chasing the Frisbee.  Muri and Jackie have laid out lunch on the blanket.  I don’t know it’s a Golden Moment, one I’ll remember forever.  Do we ever know?  We are probably laughing when a young man carrying a guitar strolls up and asks, Can I play you a song I wrote?  Naturally, we say OK … it is, after all, Saturday in the Park … there’s supposed to be A man playing guitar, Singing for us all.   He plays the guitar passably but his voice and the song are terrible.  When he finishes, we just sit there staring at him, not knowing what to say.  I think we probably mutter, Very nice and, Thank you but when he is out of ear-shot, we collapse on the blanket laughing.

I’m not sure we laugh with anyone the way we used to laugh with Don and Jackie.   One of the things I love about music is that it can be a time machine back to times I loved.   Saturday in our park, listening to Saturday in the Park, I was back in Presidio park, laughing with Don and Jackie.  And now it’s Monday and I’m still smiling about it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 1/7/2013”


  1. Love walking and absolutely HAVE to have music to walk with. But I am in the Midwest so spring, summer, fall works but not winter… at least not very often.
    Also love Chicago……great music.

  2. Muriel Reed Says:

    Those were the days…I miss them, but the memories still make me smile too:).


  3. One of my favorite memories from back in the 60s would have to be the parties my former roommates and I often had at our apartment back then. Among our “friends” then were a group of guys who were students at Catholic University in Washington, D.C. and they were all members of a non-registered sort of fraternity they called “The Senators” and a couple of the guys were also into guitars and folk music. This was the era when folk music was the in thing and especially that old show then “Hootenay” so when that crew would show up at a party at our place, rest assured that in short order, most everyone would gather in the larger bedroom and have our own sing-along hootenay then singing with the guitar players. It was actually all very clean fun -no hanky-panky stuff -just music and jokes. Always brings smiles to my face when my mind wanders back in time and recalls those folks and the good fun times we had back then.


  4. Wow. I’m impressed. Way to keep up with your exercise plan for the New Year, even if you think walking is boring. Good for you.

    Also, that’s an excellent song.

    “One of the things I love about music is that it can be a time machine back to times I loved”

    Absolutely.

  5. cherperz Says:

    It is so fun to remember good times with good friends.

    Congrats on making it through the first week. Walking is a good time to reflect. Great for the body and the soul.

  6. territerri Says:

    That seems to be the way it goes with golden moments. We don’t recognize them as such until they’re gone and we’re looking back. BUT… it’s a blessed life that provides such moments.


Leave a Reply

