No Topic, No Post

four yearsToday I received a notice on my WordPress Dashboard that I registered the domain, oldereyes.wordpress.com, four years ago today.  That first year, I posted 107 times, averaging about three times a week.   That was partly because it took me a while to get in the habit of posting regularly but it was also because I was too determined to have great topics every time.  But my initial goal was to post three or four times a week, so I was pretty happy with 2009.  In 2010, I was up to four or five times a week.  Then came 2011, when I participated in Postaday 2011 and managed to post every day.   I discovered that sometimes, sitting down at the keyboard with almost nothing in mind, combined with the gentle pressure of Postaday led to some very interesting (at least for me) posts.  But it was also occasionally mentally exhausting, so I started 2012 with a three day break from posting and a promise to take a few days off now and them.   But Monday night, when I found myself sitting in my recliner with laptop ready but nothing to say, I should have taken the day off but instead, I posted Complaints.  It was crap.   I’m embarrassed.  I’m considering taking it down.

The point is, I seem to have developed a thing about posting every day.  I’ve been wondering  exactly what sort of thing I have.   Could I be obsessed with posting every day?  My constant companion, the Mirriam-Webster Dictionary tells me that an obsession is a persistent disturbing preoccupation with an often unreasonable idea or feeling.   Hmm.   Posting every day wouldn’t seem all that unreasonable, although it may be excessive.  Maybe I’m addicted.  Well, my good buddy Wikipedia says that an addiction is the continued use of a mood altering substance or behavior despite adverse dependency consequences.   Classic hallmarks of addiction include: impaired control over substances/behavior, preoccupation with substance/behavior, continued use despite consequences, and denial.   Jeez.  I like to post and I don’t deny it.  How about compulsion?  Mirriam-Webster says compulsion is an irresistible persistent impulse to perform an act.  That could be it.  Maybe I’m a compulsive poster.

Or maybe I just love to post and don’t know when to take a break.  Like I did Wednesday.  So, for the rest of 2013, the rule is No Topic, No Post.  I think.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “No Topic, No Post”


  1. What you consider bad writing, might not be bad writing to someone else. The best advice I ever got from anyone about writing was practice, practice, practice. So consider this a practice piece…. (I didn’t think it was crap at all)

  2. territerri Says:

    I don’t think you should beat yourself up for a post you consider less than stellar, especially when you consistently post about topics that are interesting, funny, inspiring and educational.

    I’ve been trying to post more than I have been. Yesterday I wrote about being sick and it wasn’t one of my finer moments. But it seems that if I just take the time to go through the physical act of writing, even when I’m not feeling it, it gets easier the next time.

    That said, you HAVE been very busy lately, so it’s good to give yourself permission to take a break now and then.

    • oldereyes Says:

      I didn’t mean to beat myself up about the post as much as see it as a sign that I need to take a day off now and then instead of force-posting. I realy don’t come up empty all that often but when I do, no post is best.


Leave a Reply

