Friday Favorites 1/18/2013

book of runningA while back … in the Paleozoic era … when I was doing several marathons and triathlons plus an assortment of 10K runs each year, my training regimen consisted of cycling 100 miles, running 25 or 30 miles and swimming 4 or 5 miles a week.   It was the only time in my life that I had to try to eat more so that I wouldn’t lose weight.  The book that got me started was the 1977 best seller, The Complete Book of Running by Jim Fixx.  By the time Jim’s reputation as a running guru was tarnished by his death from a heart attack after a training run in 1984, I’d moved on to more specialized books like Jeff Galloway’s Book on Running, which in its first edition included a training schedule that I used to train for my first marathonLB marathon and Scott Tinley’s Winning Triathlon.   Like most runners, I found that dealing with leg and foot injuries were part of the process, perhaps more in my case because I had more upper body mass than most runners.  Every book on training included at least a chapter on preventing and treating injuries but I needed more.   The more I found was The Runner’s Repair Manual by podiatrist Murray F. Weisenfeld.   My training books have departed from my bookshelves for places unknown … library donations, our storage bin or those unidentified boxes in the garage … but The Runner’s Repair Manual lives on in my nightstand because I know, as long as I am ambulatory, I will deal with leg and foot pain.

Part One of The Runner’s Repair Manual is about how to run with a minimum of injuries.  It discusses running techniques that prevent injuries, buyingrepair manual running shoes, and injury preventing exercises.   It teaches you how to be your own podiatrist and when to seek professional help.  The advice is directed toward runners but it’s equally applicable to sixty-eight year old walkers who occasionally bike … like Older Eyes.  Part Two focuses on Runner’s Injuries and How to Treat Them Yourself, starting from the feet and moving up to the hips and back.   Symptoms are described in detail with methods to distinguish between similar injuries and advice on when to seek medical help.  With the help of Dr. Weisenfeld’s book, I’ve dealt with a short left leg (orthotics), ilio-tibial band syndrome (exercises and anti-inflamatories), shin splints (stretching and rest) and knee pain (that turned out to be a torn meniscus).

A week ago I developed some pain in the back of my heel.  The Runners Repair Manual narrowed the problem down to two possibilities, plantar faciitis (an inflammation of the fibrous material making up the arch) or heel spurs, which are tiny bits of bone where the arch meets the heel.   Dr. Weisenfeld showed me where to press to decide between the two.   I was pleased to find it was plantar faciitis because I can treat that myself with arch supports, heel cushions and ice.   It’s starting to feel better.

So, The Runner’s Repair Manual is this week’s Friday Favorite and it should be yours, too, if you are a runner or ever deal with leg and foot injuries.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Friday Favorites 1/18/2013”

  1. cherperz Says:

    That’s really good information. I think I will track down the Runners Repair Manual. I still walk 5 miles every morning but have developed some minor foot pain….I keep telling myself that I will seek out a podiatrist but I am not prepared to be told that I need to take a break from my routine.


  2. How awesome. Terrific information. And I’m so glad the advice actually worked for you.

  3. territerri Says:

    Since attempting to be a runner myself, I’ve learned enough about the sport to know that many of the training methods and theories about how to stay healthy have become passe’ over the years. It’s good to know that some of the information out there remains relevant.


Leave a Reply

