Me ‘n’ Ponce

ponceWay back in 1513, a Spanish explorer by the name of Ponce de Leon set out from Puerto Rico in search of the Islands of Biminy, over which King Ferdinand had promised de Leon exclusive rights for his service to Spain.  According to Wikipedia, he sailed north with three ships, the Santiago, the San Cristobal and the Santa Maria de la Consolacion past the Bahamas, crossing the open ocean for several days until they sighted what de Leon thought was another island.  He named it La Florida in honor of Easter, which the Spaniards called the Festival of the Flowers (Pascua Florida).  According to the popular legend (which appears to have been born after Ponce’s death), he was looking for the Fountain of Youth, the source of vitality-restoring waters that he hoped would cure his aging.  Some think that de Leon was in fact looking for the Bahamian Love Vine, which locals brewed as an aphrodisiac tea.  It’s been speculated that the Ponce de Leon mistook the natives’ word vid (vine) for vida (life) – transforming their fountain vine into an imagined fountain of life.  Either way, Ponce never found the Fountain of Youth or the Bahamian Love Vine.

A few months ago, after feeling unusually fatigued for a while, I went to my doctor.  My vitals were good for a man my age … even for a younger man … but there was one abnormality with the potential to explain my fatigue, a slightly low testosterone level, popularly known as Low-T.  My doctor suggested I might be a candidate for Testosterone Replacement Therapy (TRT) and sent me to an endocrinologist who retested me in the morning (when levels are higher).  He proclaimed  my testosterone normal for a man my age, a phrase that I hear more and more these days, and suggested that I didn’t need TRT.   I’ll prescribe it if you want to try it, he said.  I’d read a lot and talked to a several men who made TRT sound like Ponce’s Fountain of Youth and Bahamian Love Vine rolled into one, so I said, Yes Please.  And forandrogel almost thirty days I rubbed this clear (flammable, by the way) gel into my shoulders, warning Muri that she shouldn’t touch me until I’d showered.  And the truth is, except for several instances of being a bit high strung (see Temper,Temper), it did nothing.  I stopped and started again several times before I finally said, No mas because I really wanted it to be the Fountain of Youth.  Just like Ponce.  About a year ago, I tried an anti-depressant, Celexa, to get past some senior depression … it helped the depression but gave me fatigue and the shakes, making me feel older, not younger.  Yeah, I know I could try another anti-depressant … and a different dose or delivery system for my TRT … but you know what?   I hate trial and error medicine.  So for now, I’ve decided that for me, the Fountain of Youth doesn’t come in a tube  … or a bottle.   And it isn’t in Florida either, Ponce.

I guess I can live with that.

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Me ‘n’ Ponce”

  1. Susan Says:

    Ooh, I wish there were a cure for what we 64-year-olds have, Bud, but there is no remedy. The older I get, the more anxious I get, waiting for the inevitable shoe to drop. I have enjoyed excellent health nearly all my life, but I know it is just a matter of time until that changes. Worse is worrying about my dear husband.


  2. ” Yeah, I know I could try another anti-depressant … and a different dose or delivery system for my TRT … but you know what? I hate trial and error medicine. So for now, I’ve decided that for me, the Fountain of Youth doesn’t come in a tube … or a bottle. And it isn’t in Florida either, Ponce. I guess I can live with that.”

    I agree. Changing medications and dealing with all of the negative side effects is NOT for everyone.


Leave a Reply

