Monday Smiles – 3/11/2013

wordpress appThe WordPress for Android is one of the most used on my Samsung Galaxy II.  I use it to check on views and comments, as well as see what’s happening on the blogs I follow using the Reader.  One of rhe blogs I follow is the WordPress Daily Prompts, which I note regularly but rarely use.   I am stubbornly committed to come up with my own topics, I’m afraid.   But a prompt for March 10 was this:  Tell us how your week went by putting together a playlist of  five songs that represent it.   Now, that is right up my alley.  So here is my playlist for the Week That Was.   Naturally, if you hang around with old bloggers, you get old music.

The big news for the week is that my company is officially under contract for a new job that will keep us busy for several months with the potential for more later.  Just what’s needed to keep Older Eyes happy and out of trouble.   The song?  The (sort of) title track from Steve Winwood’s 1986 Back in the High Life album (the song’s title is actually Back in the High Life Again).  This is, by the way, as new as the music gets today, folks.

My appointment with my tax guy isn’t until next week, but Wednesday, I started gathering the necessary papers.  Just because my taxes are reasonably simple at this point in my life doesn’t mean that there aren’t any surprises.  Last year, it was a $6000 surprise, and not in our favor.  So, naturally, the song is Taxman, the George Harrison song from Revolver.  Harrison wrote the song because the Beatles were in the top tax bracket, making them liable for a 95% supertax.  Ouch.  I don’t feel so bad.

It was a good week for friends, which is a good thing.  My mood was a little off this week, and I got by With a Little Help from My Friends.  In addition to my regular 12-Step meetings and time at the office with my friend, Sharon, there was coffee with Truck and Phil and a very enjoyable dinner Saturday night with our friends, Ron and Kerry.  And here it is, Meals on Wheels Monday, which means a Service and Lunch Date with my best friend.  The song is the 1969 version by Joe Cocker.

Unimportant to the world as a whole but certainly gratifying to me is the return of my Los Angeles Lakers to playoff contention with a big win on Sunday against the Chicago Bulls.  The song?  The Boys Are Back In Town by the Irish hard rock band, Thin Lizzy, released in 1976.

And of course, my week wouldn’t be complete without several visits to our park … the beautiful Yorba Regional Park.   Technically speaking, we weren’t there on Saturday, but Chicago’s 1972 Saturday in the Park, one of my favorite feel-good oldies, will have to do.

So, there you go.  My playlist for the week, a day late, which means I can’t pingback to the Daily Post.   Oh, well.  It’s Monday … I’m smiling … in spite of the Taxman.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 3/11/2013”

  1. SandySays1 Says:

    Good grief, my human commented “Chicago” was the most “current” to him. He spent the weekend with a bunch of archaeologists, appropriate for that kind of fossil. He was part of Calusa Heritage Day at the Randell Research Center. (see my latest post) By the way he’s going to put a pic of Oreo, the doppleganger for your cat, in one of my next posts.
    Sandy


  2. […] Monday Smiles – 3/11/2013 | Older Eyes […]


  3. What a fabulous idea for a blog post! I love the concept of describing your week with songs. Also, I loved your musical choices.

  4. territerri Says:

    Ah… our music interests have crossed paths for a change. Steve Winwood’s Back in the High Life is an album I bought when I first started dating Mark. I remember loving every song on it and listening to it endlessly.

    I miss those days when I bought music as a collection. Now I tend to buy a song or two that’s had a lot of radio play but end up missing out on the rest of the album.


  5. […] Older Eyes Monday Smiles – 3/11/2013 […]


Leave a Reply

