Mobile Thoughts

So, its Tuesday morning and I’m on my way from our Big House in the Hills in CA to our Little House in the Desert in AZ.  Muri is driving and its Top Sites Tuesday, so I thought I’d post my two thoughts from my  smart phone. Thought Number One is this: Isn’t it amazing what we can do with today’s technology?

Thought Two is more serious, concerning assisted living for seniors.  I have a very close older friend whose wife is reaching a point where she needs more care than he can provide. And my blogging friend, Terri, recently posted about her parents reaching that point. In both cases, I mentioned assisted living because it was such a God send for my Dad when we moved him there some 14 years ago. I was in my arrogant fifties and didn’t relate to his fears before we moved him. I think my age now gives me insight to, as Joni Mitchell would say, Both Sides Now. So in the next few days … probably Thursday … I’m going to write about the experience. I invite you to stop by and read.

There’s no button to push today … I’m doing this on my phone for Pete’s sake … but thanks for stopping by on Top Sites Tuesday.

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

7 Comments on “Mobile Thoughts”

  1. cherperz Says:

    Your retreat is over?? I look forward to your post about assisted living. I have had to deal with the subject as well but this is a very divided topic. We have a good friend that refuses to even consider the possibility that he would ever have to go into assisted living or worse yet skilled nursing facilities. Among our friends, we are the only ones that have long term health care plans. While I am not looking forward to it, I am preparing for it.

  2. liggybee Says:

    I, too, look forward to reading what you have to write about assisted living. As we get older and I see from my own dad’s situation, senior care is not something you want to plan for when you get there. You have to start planning way ahead of time.

    Have a good week ahead, Bud!!!


  3. Hummm Sounds like something my family was going to do to me after my last run to the hospital by ambulance. Well, I am just not ready for that yet. I am not old enough for sure and i can take care of myself. I am still living in my little bungalow and enjoying it everyday!

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

    • oldereyes Says:

      That’s actually my purpose … to write about it from my point of view when we moved my Dad, then from my point of view now. I’d still encourage him to go but I’d certainly listen more knwoing what I know now.

  4. Trina Says:

    Posting from your phone… very brave 😉 Every time I try something like that I loose the whole post and consider throwing my phone out the window (If Wolf doesn’t beat me to it first)

    I haven’t been privy to information about assisted living other than to know some people like it. There’s a nice 4 step home here where as your needs change you go into different stages in the home and I’ve met many people that live there who seem to like it. I guess if you could find an assisted living place close to home at a good rate it wouldn’t bee too scary.

    Clicks!
    –Trina

  5. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    First I’m glad Muri is the one driving as you wrote this from your phone. My first thought is what type of phone do you have (I’m in the market, mine was eaten by salt water and humidity on the trip)

    Sometimes assisted living is more of a blessing than you would think. It helps easy your family’s mind that you are being cared for and sometimes the person in the the assisted living didn’t know how much easier life could be with a little help. I’ll be curious to hear your report.

    Clicks for you – even with no button!
    Wolf

    • oldereyes Says:

      My phone is a Samsung Galaxy. i really like it but it’s more demanding than an iPhone in terms of getting it configured just the way you want. My dad thrived in assisted living.


Leave a Reply

