Boston

boston2Just in case you’ve never read my bio on Who’s Bud, I’m a New Englander at heart even though I’ve lived in California for forty-two years.  I grew up in Connecticut but my first job was in the Boston area.   I lived several blocks from Fenway Park and I loved it there.  Muri’s sister, Selma, and her family lived in nearby Natick, and because her husband, Leon, introduced us to a friend of his who was in the diamond business, Muri and I were engaged there.   Over the years, I attended school at Northeastern University, frequently stopping at the famous Durgin Park for dinner on the way.   When Muri and I were first married and living in Rhode Island, we’d frequently drive to Boston for shopping or entertainment.  In 1983, when I ran my first Marathon in Long Beach, California, my goal became to qualify for the Boston Marathon.   Even though I trained hard and ran 12 more marathons, I never made it.  But I had the good fortune to be in Boston on business once on Patriot’s Day when the Boston Marathon is run.  It is not only the ultimate celebration of running, it is a celebration of the city’s place in the founding of our country.  And while I’ve never experienced crossing the finish line near the Prudential Center, I’ve finished enough marathons … with my family cheering me on … to know what a joyful experience finishing Boston would be.  When the cowards of the world seek to frighten us with evil acts, they seek out the joyful and the innocent, which is why they chose the finish line of the Boston Marathon today.

My television is off tonight as I’m writing this post.  I’ve seen the scenes of the explosions countless times, and shots of blood on the street, the blood of runners and spectators maimed by the bombs which appear to have been laced with shrapnel.   I’ve heard the death toll and the number injured, with estimates of how many have lost limbs.  The news channels have exhausted all the information to be had, so now they interview experts who know nothing either but are willing to speculate.   Was it Al Qaeda?  Will there be more attacks?  In there a person of interest?  Will this be the end of the Boston Marathon?  Why do we play into the hands of terrorists with continuous coverage of the breaking news when there is no news to break?   And online media, spurred on by social networking, is worse.   All day I’ve been avoiding posts promising graphic images.   It sickens me … and challenges my faith … that there is such evil in the world.  I need to see the positive actions that follow such mayhem if I’m to be comfortable in this world, like the sight of people running toward the explosions to help instead of fleeing.   Or the sight of 78 year old runner, Bill Iffrig, who was knocked down by the first explosion, then simply got up and finished the race.  That says more about Boston and the Boston Marathon than all the talking heads on television.

So, it’s Top Sites Tuesday #199 and my Two Thoughts concern my favorite city, Boston.  Thought Number OneThe cowards of the world, being cowards, think that terrorists acts will make us fearful … and they might, but only for a while.   But I know us.  And I know Boston.  We’ll be fine.   There’s no button to push tonight.  Instead, take a minute to heed Thought Number Two:

Pray for Boston

.

Explore posts in the same categories: perspectives

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Boston”

  1. tomuseornottomuse Says:

    Thank you for a wonderful post.


  2. It is so sad that the very few people that are bad can do so much harm to all of us. We need to pray for the families and others who were there. It had to be a horrific sight to see, one that i never want to see.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby


  3. I think in a community of writers, it’s hard on days like this to find one’s own voice. As you and I and the Byronic Man have noted, everyone seems to be saying similar things. But I like that today. And I’m glad you have such warm and wonderful memories of Boston. I’ve never been there.

  4. cherperz Says:

    That was a wonderful post, Bud. I agree that for every evil act that is meant to break us, the good people of America always step up and show their compassion and strength. Still it is hard to understand why people do such evil things.


  5. I watched the new about the Boston bombings totally horrified until I turned to my Facebook newsfeed and saw a black-and-white photo of a smiling Mr. Rogers making the rounds, with the caption, “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.'” – And that brought me a great deal of comfort. Because from that second forward that’s all I looked for while glued to my television for the rest of the day, watching the tragedy unfold.

  6. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    I agree, the cowards who bombed the marathon are not going to keep us in fear long… most of us a re already past the fear and have moved on to waiting for justice and reasons.

    WOlf

  7. Trina Says:

    I have a friend that just moved to Boston. When I read about the bombing my mind drifted to worry about her and her husband. Of course she posted that all was well after a little while, but there’s that worry.

    I saying my prayers…
    –Trina

  8. Rick Gleason Says:

    “When the cowards of the world seek to frighten us with evil acts, they seek out the joyful and the innocent …”

    Well said Bud. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

