I’m Thinking

of a Number.  OK.  It’s Top Sites Tuesday and I’ve got nothing to say, so we’re going to play a game.  I’m thinking of a number between 1 and 500.  Can you guess it?   Too hard, you say?   Mental Floss, the interesting-facts website recently offered a T-shirt for guessing a number between 1 and 1,146.  Someone guessed correctly after only one hint: Reba Kennedy was onto something.  I have no idea what that means but I’m not giving away a shirt … unless maybe younumbers guess my number and tell me what Reba Kennedy has to do with the number 730.  Anyway, here’s hint number 1 What is the temperature of the quark-gluon plasma phase transition in electron volts?  Got it?  You didn’t expect me to give it away on the first clue, did you?   OK.  Hint number two –  What is the smallest number that cannot be changed into a prime number by changing only one digit?   Surely, someone out there has it now.  Shirley?   A bit slow this morning, are we class?   No physics or math majors, eh?   Maybe some NASCAR fans?   Hint 3: How many NASCAR Cup Series races has driver Richard Petty won in his career?  No Googling, now.  That would be cheating.   Still no takers?   Hint 4 … maybe we have some literary types – How many years ago was Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice published?  Still no one?   OK, this should do it.  Hint Number 5How many Monopoly dollars do you get for passing Go?

TSTThe answer, of course, is 200, chosen in honor of Top Sites Tuesday #200, where for roughly four years, I’ve offered Two Thoughts on Tuesday.  Here’s Thought Number One for today: When I happened on BlogDumps and started participating in the TST meme in 2009, I never thought I’d still be at it 179 TST posts later.  Some marriages don’t last that long!  And Thought Number Two:  It’s been a lot of fun I really don’t understand why so many people hate memes.  Some of my best curmudgeonly rants have come on Tuesdays and I’ve made some great blogging friends.  Thanks, Wolf and Trina … and to the remaining Top Sites Tuesday regulars, Wolf, Trina, AngelBaby, Cheryl and Liggy.  Now, please take a minute to push my button … gently … so I can finish ahead of them all on Top Sites Tuesday #200.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “I’m Thinking”


  1. I am not one for the guessing games with clues and all. I like them simple because I use all my brain power at work. I did enjoy your post.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby


  2. Now, see, I was going to take issue with the prime number hint. The smallest number that cannot be changed into a prime number by changing one digit… I figured it had to be 2. Two is not a prime number, but it’s also only a single digit, and therefore cannot be changed by changing a digit. Unless, of course… you just change the 2… to a 1… or a 3..

    Okay, fine, it was the Monopoly hint that did it for me. I confess.

    Congrats on 200 Tuesdays!

  3. cherperz Says:

    I would of had to Google for the answer 200. I wouldn’t of stood a chance getting the right answer short of dumb luck.

    That is a long time to stick with a meme. But I think Blogdumps Two Thoughts for Tuesday is really a lot of fun. Most of the ones that require something every day for a month and then disappear for months at a time, feel too much like “feast and famine” to me.

    I am so glad you participate, Bud. I would miss your posts terribly if you quit.

  4. territerri Says:

    Well I finally got it on Clue #5! (Not such a scholarly type, this one!)

    Congratulations on sticking it out so long with TST! I always enjoy the way you tie your two thoughts together.

  5. Trina Says:

    Thank you for the monopoly hint! I was about to start Googling! LOL

    Bud, I have enjoyed all your posts along the way and look forward to reading your post each week 🙂

    Clicks!
    –Trina

  6. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    What a clever post. I really enjoyed it 🙂 Thank you, Bud, for participating. Your curmudgeonly rants and thoughts are a reat treat each week.

    Clicks for you!
    Wolf


Leave a Reply

