Private Number

private numberIf you’ve been reading Older Eyes for a while, you know that I, like most creatures of our species, have my grumpy mornings.  They are usually inexplicable and random, defying logic.  Yesterday was such a day.  I’d had a good week, active and productive.  I’d had a good night’s sleep but there I was in My Park annoyed by just about everything around me.  Chatterbox walkers.  Noisy dog people.  Noisy dogs.  The pedal boats from the new rental concession sullying the view of the lake.  My Lake.  Some annoying kid was chasing the ducks.

At 9:15, my cellphone buzzed.  Private Number, it said, which usually means it’s Muri (our home phone is unlisted).  Unfortunately, I was indisposed in a stall in the park men’s room so I didn’t answer.  Maybe it’s old-fashioned, but I think it’s gross when people talk on the phone in the bathroom.  Muri left a message, though.  I don’t know where you’ve been sitting in the park, she said, but the tan jeans I just put in the laundry have black dirt or grease all over the seat.  You might want to put something over wherever you sit.  It wasn’t what I wanted to hear.  I wanted, How are you this morning?  Maybe, I found something cool for a date tonight, or even, I love you.  Rescue me from my mood, you know.

I have come to the conclusion that my grumpiness is made of ink because the more I write in my Morning Pages, the more it seems to dissipate.  My friend, Truck, once told me that, A loving wife always mothers her husband to some degree.   And he’s right.  Sometimes, I love you is there to be heard if we are willing to hear it in the way it’s said instead of exactly how we’d like it said.  It took me a while but I eventually used enough ink to hear it in a message from a Private Number.

Have a loving Sunday.

Explore posts in the same categories: love and marriage

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Private Number”

  1. granny1947 Says:

    Sundays are my depressing and grumpy days.
    Because I have to go to work tomorrow!

  2. cherperz Says:

    I rarely wake up grumpy but it doesn’t always take long for me to get there. (newspapers, morning news, or something my walking partner brings to the grumpy table)

    I perfectly see that Muri’s concern about the stuff on your slacks is a loving thought. She knows that it will irritate you when you ruin some of your clothing and she had the chance to help you avoid it.

    Muri sounds very sweet from everything you have ever written.


Leave a Reply

