Friday Favorites 6/14/2013

glass heartI have a thing for glass.  No, not glasses, even though I need a pair of those to see the words on my laptop as I write this post.  No, not drinking glasses, although I do like a nice crystal wineglass for my occasional glass of Pinot or a masculine-looking rocks glass for an occasion Chivas-on-the-Rocks.  Yes, I know.  If I were really trendy, I’d be drinking some $250 a bottle single-malt scotch but my tastes in alcohol aren’t that refined.  The glass I’m talking about is art glass.   If you were to roam around our home (please call first), you’d find glass art objects scattered throughout, anything from small glass hearts and kaleidoscopes to larger glass pieces that have no other function than to catch the eye.   There’s an art glass menorah that I featured in a Hanukkah Friday Favorites in 2011, and a Caithness paperweight I bought when I was on business in England.  If you were observant, you might notice that many of the glass pieces feature dark blue glass.  I’ve always been drawn to blue glass … my head tells me there was a cobalt blue vase in my grandmother’s house that I loved as a child but refuses to provide an image.  My favorite coffee cup is cobalt blue glass.  Funny creatures, we are (My daughter would say, Yes, Master Yoda, if she read that).   If you were into glass, as we used to say about things we really liked back in the sixties, you’d notice that dichoic glass is featured in a number of the pieces.  According to Wikipedia, dichroic glass is glass containing multiple micro-layers of metals or oxides which give the glass dichroic optical properties. The main characteristic of dichroic glass is that it has a particular transmitted color and a completely different reflected color, as certain wavelengths of light either pass through or are reflected. This causes an array of color to be displayed. The colors shift depending on the angle of view.

If you are still with me at this point, you are either a glass enthusiast or asking, OK, OK, what’s the Friday Favorite already so I can get back to work?  Is it glass art?  Is it blue glass?  Is it blue dichroic glass?   Well, it’s all three, in a way … it’s my favorite piece of blue, dichroic art glass.  The piece is Large Glass Orb, created by Rollin Karg, a glass artist who makes his home in Wichita Kansas.

orb

According to his website, rollinkarg.com, Although Karg spent the first part of his career as an industrial engineer, photographer, potter and woodworker before becoming a full time glass artist in 1983, he has quickly gained notoriety for his contribution to the world of glass art. He has won many awards in competitions and shows throughout the United States and his work has been shown at galleries and exhibitions throughout most of North America  You can see more of his work there.

Have a beautiful weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

