Monday Smiles – 6/17/2013

wood waterIt was not a weekend that lends itself to Monday Smiles.   Friday night, I awoke from a sound sleep, uncertain of the date and wondering if I’d forgotten to pay my estimated taxes.  By the time I’d recovered the date from my memory banks and realized I had until Monday, I was wide awake and would remain so for over an hour.   I attended a memorial service for a man I didn’t know on Saturday morning, the younger brother of a good friend.  The man had spent many years in Alcoholics Anonymous, working with others and it lifted my friend’s spirits to see how many people showed up to pay their respects.  Men in AA form tighter bonds than most men and learn to speak from the heart in meetings, so the eulogies were warm and sometimes humorous.  I was glad I went in the way that you are glad you attend such things.   I returned home exhausted and fell asleep on our bed, napping for two hours.  When I awoke, Muri told me that my younger brother, Glenn, was in the hospital with pneumonia and congestive heart failure.  It seemed like a bad dream, coming as it did after the passing of my friend’s brother.   Glenn and I are six years apart, and both our age difference and geography have kept us from spending as much time together as brothers should probably do.  We’ve seen each other as adults mostly at reunions and weddings and funerals but I love him dearly.  Please put him in your prayers if you are inclined to do such things.

The rest of the weekend was a blur, not unpleasant but muted by thoughts of my brother back in Mentor, Ohio.   Muri and I went out for dinner Saturday night, then to Target to buy me a smart Blu-ray player for Father’s Day.  It is so smart, in fact, that after a weekend of futzing, I still haven’t figured everything out.  Our Saturday date was sitting at home, watching Sea Biscuit in stunning Blu-ray definition.  I love that movie and the book by Laura Hildebrand was even better.  I didn’t sleep well again Saturday night so fortunately, Father’s Day was slow and easy.   Muri brought me breakfast and I lazed around, making a Father’s Day video of my Dad to post.  A few tears were shed but they were good-memory tears.  We had a very nice lunch at Macaroni Grill and I spent the afternoon futzing with aforementioned Blu-ray player, watching Phil come up short again at the US Open, and napping.  Muri made a lovely roast beef dinner and by that time, my son had figured out it was Father’s Day and wished me one.   My daughter texted me from church and called later in the evening to chat.   I watched  the NBA Finals.  I am a latent San Antonio Spurs fan, which means if the Lakers aren’t in and they are, I root for them.  I talked to my sister-in-law and she told me that the doctor said, He’s going to be OK, you know.  It’s the kind of casual comment that is usually a good sign, so I’m hopeful.   I played an awful lot of  Mole Word.  As I said, a blur.

So, it’s Monday morning and traditional here on Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog for me to conjure up a smile to keep myself from turning into Bud Dark.    I’ve got nothing pressing to do …. except get my estimated taxes in the mail and talk to AT&T about a cellphone bill that mysteriously increased by $80 this month.   Oh, yeah, and clean this disaster of an office.   It will be a Chop Wood, Carry Water* kind of day, and I know from past experience, if I chop enough and carry enough, I’ll be smiling before the day is over.   Have a good week.

* Zen saying: Before enlightenment, chop wood, carry water.  After enlightenment, chop wood, carry water.  It’s also the title of a very good book on finding spiritual enlightenment in everyday life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 6/17/2013”

  1. jenihill Says:

    My opinion (that I’m sure you could do without but you’re getting it anyway) is that anytime one has to deal with any kind of taxes plus an unexpected increase in something like a phone bill, makes figuring out a reason to smile pretty darned difficult. But the “carry water, chop wood” line gave me a little inclination to smile as I thought of that theory with respect to things that need done here (that don’t usually lend themselves to me to smile about) and that made me feel some better then, if that’s any consolation!

    • oldereyes Says:

      I did a lot of busy work …. and life seems to be conspiring to keep me really busy this week. Some work as a legal expert is bubbling over and a new consulting opportunity turned up, so I’m having no trouble finding wood to cho and water to carry.


  2. I hope for the best possible outcome for your brother and all who love him. You certainly had a surreal weekend.

    • oldereyes Says:

      Yes, it’s actually more surreal than I describe here. It’s one of those times I understand why you blog anonymously. If I were anonymous I’d say a lot more. Thanks for your concern.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

