Friday Favorites 6/21/2013

m1If you’ve been following along with Older Eyes this week, you know it’s been a difficult one.  My younger brother, Glenn, is in the hospital and it’s been hard to put it out of my mind.  Fortunately, life has cooperated with my determination to Chop Wood, Carry water … that is, stay busy with routine things … by removing, at least temporarily, the semi from my semi-retired life.  Two jobs have percolated to full time and another opportunity appeared out of the blue.  Plenty of Wood and Water to Chop and Carry.  But I skipped posting yesterday and you know how I get when I don’t post.  No, you probably don’t.  A bit compulsive, you see.  So, this is not exactly a Favorite but it’s what I can manage today … and I think it’s pretty cool.  Neat-o.  Awesome.  Swell (synonyms courtesy Urban Dictionary which says, The phrase “cool” is very relaxed, never goes out of style, and people will never laugh at you for using it, very convenient for people like me who don’t care about what’s in).  That would be me, too.

Last night, after working all day and attending my Thursday Night Mens Meeting, I was exhausted but wired.  I sat and played Mole Word to relax then headed for bed at 11:30.   As I was about to retire, a bird began singing outside our bedroom window.  Loudly.  The bird wasn’t tweeting.  Or chirping.  The bird was showing off an incredible variety of bird-vocal pyrotechnics.   When I went downstairs to see what it was, my son and his two cats were already at the back door, listening.  The cats were particularly interested.  Fortunately, I had my phone in my bathrobe pocket and used a nice little Android app, Voice Recorder**, to record 3 minutes of the avarian concert.  So, now you get to hear it, with some pictures of the singer, a Mockingbird, as my Friday almost-Favorite.  Listen for a while to see how many different tunes this little bird sings.  Simply amazing.  About ten seconds in, you’ll hear the sound of the screen door closing so the cats couldn’t get out.  They were anxious to meet the artist.

Of course, when I was through recording the song, I got a broom and chased the little sucker out of the tree next to our bedroom, much to the cats’ chagrin.  An old curmudgeon needs his sleep, you know.

** Technical note: Voice Recorder produces 3ga files, that is, bird.3ga.  Your PC won’t know what to do with them but if you change the files type to mp3 (bird.mp3), they play just fine.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Friday Favorites 6/21/2013”

  1. jenihill Says:

    Well, since “Cool” is an acceptable term and that’s pretty much how I felt listening to the bird’s songs -had no idea it was a mocking bird -so anyway, that was a totally cool post, Bud!

  2. lmorris Says:

    quite peaceful, I coulda went to sleep by it or woke up in the morning to it.


  3. I can’t listen to this yet because I have sleeping guests, but so far your post reminds me of a subplot in the movie “Failure To Launch,” in which Zooey Deschanel is outraged by the relentless singing of a mockingbird in her tree. You appreciate it much more, I suspect.


Leave a Reply

