Friday Favorites 8/2/2013

musicOn Wednesday, I posted the Blue Hair Version of My Favorite Things from The Sound of Music.  While certainly hysterical, it paints a dark picture of aging … and here on Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog, we seek to balance the difficulties of growing older with its joys.  In the interest of finding that balance, I offer you My Friday Favorite Things.  I invite you to select this karaoke version of My Favorite Things and sing along:

Smooth jazz guitars and piano sonatas,
Old rock and roll and a little Sinatra,

Beautiful melodies, music that swings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Birds on the feeders, bunnies on the lawn,
My son’s Siamese in my office at dawn,
Sunsets and sunrises that give my heart wings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Dinner with Muri then out to the theater,
Off to the park when I know that I’ll meet her.
Seeing the grandkids, the joy that it brings
These are a few of my favorite things,

When the back hurts,
When I can’t sleep,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don’t feel so bad.

When the joints ache,
And I see wrinkles,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply recall 69 years of memories,
And then I don’t feel so bad.

Have a memorable weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Friday Favorites 8/2/2013”


  1. Very nice way to think of the memories in your life and how they keep your thinking balanced.

  2. cherperz Says:

    I love that, Bud, You are so clever. I am curious about the widget your are using to place music within your posts. Is that a WordPress widget or one that you got off the Internet?

    • oldereyes Says:

      It comes with the basic WordPress but I can only upload mp3 files if I pay for a space upgrade, which is $20 a year. There’s a similar widget available on self-hosted WordPress but I’m not sure what you use. There’s certainly a way to do it, whatever. If you want more info. email or comment me.


Leave a Reply

