Monday Smiles – 8/19/2013

The only people interested in hearing about your grandchildren are other grandparents who want to tell you about theirsBryna Nelson Paston, author of How to Be the Perfect Grandma

grandkids3We had our children fairly late in life, so we had the experience of being the only childless couple in a group of friends with kids, bored out of our gourds with tales of cuteness and tantrums.  And so, by the time we became grandparents, we were careful not to overdo the grandkid stories with friends who didn’t have any.  But this weekend, we were in San Diego visiting old friends, each of whom is blessed with grandchildren, so there was no need to be shy.  There’s nothing like talking about my grandchildren to make me keenly aware of how much I miss seeing them.  But soon, it will be autumn and the temperature in Phoenix will no longer be in the hundreds … and we’ll be visiting regularly.   In the meantime, I’m getting to help out my oldest, Reed, with a report for school.

Each of my grandkids delights me in their own special way.  Five year old Savy is a miniature of the little girl I raised so many years ago, a small, chatty package of cuteness and personality that brings an instant smile to my face.  Maddux, six years old, is our sweetheart, blessed with the bluest eyes and a smile that can brighten any room.  He’s not fond of school, at least yet (although he does well) but he’s excelled at nearly any sport he’s played.  He also has the warmest heart.   Then there’s eight year old Reed, who remindsreedster me most of myself as a boy, a little stubborn and a little serious with an inquisitive mind and a love of school, especially math.  Friday, Reed called me on my cell phone as I was headed up the hill toward home.   After I pulled over so I could talk, he said, Papa, can I ask you a question?  I figured he needed us to sponsor him for a jogathon or buy something for for a school fund-raiser, which we are always willing to do.  But not this time.  Do you have any information or pictures about your Dad when he was in the Army?  I’m doing a report for school.   Of course, in building my other blog, A Father’s Legacy, I’ve been accumulating just that sort of thing, so I said, Yes, I do, Reed.  I have his military record and some pictures.   I can even send you a picture of the planes he worked on in Italy.  I’ll email them to you.  Which I did, Saturday night.

dad soldierBack in March of 2009, I wrote, There’s a certain wonderful circularity to the process: parents teach children to be grown-ups and grandchildren teach their grandparents to be child-like again.  And now, I get to see a larger circle, my oldest grandson honoring my father by writing a report about his military service.  As author Lois Wyse has said, Grandchildren are the dots that connect the lines from generation to generation.   Somewhere out there, my Dad is smiling.  And it’s Monday … I’m smiling with him and for him.

Explore posts in the same categories: family

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 8/19/2013”

  1. your daughter Says:

    It makes me so happy (and a bit teary eyed) to read what you write about my kids! I am so proud of Reed for coming up with this idea all in his own & to see his excitement about it.


  2. .I -speaking of course as another adoring grandparent type -enjoy your words about your Grandkids, their appeal and achievements. But right now, I confess I am a bit jealous of you with being able to help Reed, yes but more so because some autumn you and Muri will be able to go visit those three special little people more often whereas starting next Monday, my two babies (Maya and Kurt) will begin attending school in a new school for them and one that is about 130 miles away from me. This week, they are here with me -for one last visit before school starts and then, after that, I have no clue as to when I’ll be able to see them again! And that, depresses the hell out of me!

  3. territerri Says:

    Well, I’m not a grandparent…. yet. But I don’t think I’m all that far away. And I LOVE to hear about your grandchildren. They are obviously the light of your life and your words shine with the love and joy they bring to you.


Leave a Reply

