Friday Favorites 8/30/2013

full_moonIf you are one of the few readers who have following along with Older Eyes from the start, you know the importance of music in my life.  If you’ve just landed here for the first time, you’d probably think that a statement like that means I’m a musician, which I am most certainly not.  Like Antonio Salieri in the film, Amadeus, who could hear the voice of God in Mozart’s music but couldn’t create his own, music touches my soul in spite of my inability to create it.  There was a time that, like Salieri, I saw that as a curse but I’ve learned that it is a blessing to be able to use music to get to the emotional heart of things.  I have songs that make me smile, songs that inspire me, songs that make me cry and others that make me think.  I am a song-for-any-occasion old codger.

Have you ever had a time when, in spite of everyone around you, you feel like you’re facing the world alone?  Yes, I have, although fortunately not for a very long time.  There is someone in my life who probably feels alone right now.  I remember what that was like.  Uplifting songs just pissed me off and inspirational songs sounded trite.  And I certainly didn’t need sad songs.  I needed to be inspired to do what was in front of me even if I had to do it on my own.  And there is no better song about that than Bonnie Raitt’s Stand Up to the Night from her Nine Lives album.

It’s certainly no coincidence that my favorite stand-your-ground song comes from Bonnie Raitt.  If you read her biography on Wikipedia, you’ll see that she’s probably been there a time or two.  And while there are certainly pampered artists who can sing sad songs convincingly, nothing brings authenticity like having lived the material.  So, she’s my Friday Favorite this week.

Aside: Interestingly, every lyrics site I looked quoted the chorus as:

Though you’re crying no one hears
If you feel your soul would light the darkness disappears
Stand up to the night.

That makes no sense.  I listened several times and I think it’s, If you fill your soul with light the darkness disappears.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Friday Favorites 8/30/2013”


  1. I think nobody needs sad songs, and I applaud to your preferences. I was hard to grasp only the ending of your post. I think the both quotes had the same meaning: when we fill our soul with the light, we become potent to feel how the light push away the darkness -the web fill enables the soul to feel so.

  2. territerri Says:

    Bonnie Raitt is one of my favorites, though this song didn’t stand out in my memory, so it feels new to me. I’ve seen her in concert several times and she is by far one of the most memorable artists I’ve ever seen. I’m sure that has a lot to do with the fact that she’s “been there” and is so genuine.


Leave a Reply

