Somniloquys

zzzzzLast night, I was up late working on another assignment in the Trade Secret case I’ve been working on as a technical expert.   By the time I came to bed, Muri was fast asleep.  What, by the way, does that mean, anyway?  How can you be fast and asleep?  It turns out that the fast in fast asleep is derived from the German word, fest, meaning firmly stuck.  So, Muri was firmly stuck in sleep, but not so firmly stuck that she wasn’t talking in her sleep. No, I couldn’t make out what she was saying.  So, the topic here on TopTST Sites Tuesday #225 … where I get to offer Two Thoughts on Tuesday … is sleep-talking.  When I mentioned her soliloquy to Muri this morning,  she said, You were talking, too (You do it, too, is her favorite response).   Do you know that you have your own language when you talk in your sleep? she continued.   I’m just mumbling, I said.  Everyone mumbles when they talk in their sleepMuri answered, No. You say whatever it is you’re saying very clearly.  It’s just another language.  Having taken four years of Latin in high school and being raised as a Catholic, I asked, Could it have been Latin?  I really didn’t ask that but it would have been funny, don’t you think?  No?  Anyway, Muri went on to say that I had a certain tone of voice.   I sound like my Mother, I said.  And aggravated.  Muri laughed and said, YesHow did you know that?

It turns out that sleep-talking is formally termed Somniloquy and it is very likely hereditary … if your parents were somniloquists, you’re likely to be one, too.  I never heard my Dad talk in his sleep but my Mom was another story.  My bedroom was right next to my parents’ and many nights I’d be awakened by my Mom’s Somniloquys.  When she was talking in her sleep language … usually in an aggravated tone … I’d just go back to sleep. But sometimes she’d moan like a lost soul and scare me half to death.  So Thought Number One is this: I’d say Muri should be glad I’m not a sleep moaner.  The National Sleep Foundation says somniloquy is a sleep disorder.  Sleep-talkers, it says, are not typically aware of their behaviors or speech; therefore their voices and the type of language they use may sound different from their wakeful speechSleep talking can involve complicated dialogues or monologues, complete gibberish or mumbling.  Yet WebMD says, It’s a very common occurrence and is not usually considered a medical problem.  So, is it a disorder or not?  I’m not inclined to worry about it, at least for medical reasons.

Popular culture seems to believe that you can’t lie in your sleep.  In her song,reba Talking in Your Sleep, Reba MacIntire is lying awake, listening to her lover talk in his sleep, wondering if he’s dreaming of someone else.   I’ve heard it said that dreamers never lie, she sings.  So, is it worth spying on your partner by asking questions while they’re sleep talking … or worrying about your own Somniloquys?  Well, since Somnilioquys are a confused state of mind that occurs mostly as we transition between deep and lighter sleep states, and since they originate in the subconscious mind, they are inadmissible in court.   However, that doesn’t help me if I shout, Oh, Hephzibah, in the middle of the night and Muri hears me.  So Thought Number Two is this: Perhaps  over the years we each invent our own sleep language just to be safe.   So, I wonder what Muri’s keeping from me?

Do you talk in your sleep?  Let me know in my comments section and be sure to push my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #225.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Somniloquys”

  1. liggybee Says:

    Funny you should mention that about sleep-talking. I hear my husband sleep-talk every so often but his sleep speech is hardly ever intelligible. Sometimes I try to “converse” with him in his sleep but I end up interrupting his dream conversation instead and he ends up waking. When that happens, he can’t even remember what was going on in his dream….oh well! If only our dreams could be recorded…I think that would make for some interesting viewing. 😀

    Great post, Bud! Click!

  2. Cheryl P. Says:

    I don’t have much experience with sleep talkers. We had a child that was prone to sleep walking which I did worry about.

    As for sleep talking…the few times that came close to that is when my husband would have nightmares and wake up yelling. It was very clear words and he remembers the nightmare.

    Maybe you should tape Muri the next time she is talking. and run it backwards. Maybe it’ like the Beatle’s album that had the backmasking track.

    Click

  3. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    I talk in my sleep sometimes, as do both my sons and my daughter. Trina mumbles sometimes. It’s interesting to find out that there’s a word for it although I don’t think I can pronounce it properly.

    Clicks!
    Wolf

  4. Trina Says:

    OMG! I just had this conversation with the new daughter in law, the latest sleep talk incident involves a 6’5″ tall guy saying “Give my back my Bouncy Ball” and after falling back to sleep (her was woken up by hysterical laughing) “Stay away from those frogs They’re poisonous”

    I’ve never heard that some people talk in another language, but the half asleep mumblings can usually be quite comical!

    Great thoughts!
    –Trina


Leave a Reply

