Monday Smiles – 10/28/2013

The older I get, the less time I want to spend with the part of the human race that didn’t marry me – Robert Brault

mondayOK, here’s how I intended to begin this post.   Muri and I had a really nice weekend.  Hmmm.  If you are a regular reader, you know how I feel about the word nice.  It seems like a low-ball compliment, what we used to call damning with faint praise.  How about a really great weekend, Older Eyes?  After all, you got to spend it with the person you’d rather be with than anyone else on the planet.  After all, you got to drive to the beautiful L.A. Music Center and see Danny DeVito and Judd Hersch in The Sunshine Boys, written by your favorite playwright, Neil Simon.  You enjoyed it thoroughly, laughing more than you’ve laughed in weeks.  And you got to have a leisurely prime rib dinner at Gulliver’s Restaurant, surrounded by Halloween decorations and happy families.  You and Muri watched television together, football and recorded episodes of The Black List, something you should do more often.  You ran errands together and read together and napped in the same room.  Sorta oughta be a really great weekend, don’t you think?

Mindfulness is a bitch, even in the face of a delightful weekend.  Events in the recent past and things to be done in the not too distant future obscure our vision, making really great appear just really nice.  They magnify small annoyances in the present to the point where they dim the light of the day,solar much as the moon blocks the light of the much larger sun during an eclipse.  Life is good becomes, Yeah, I guess we’re lucky, as we focus on the trials not the blessings.  And now it’s Monday.  Muri has errands to run and I actually have some work to do.  Busy, particularly when we’re not together, is good.  And tomorrow, we’re doing Meals on Wheels.  Service together is very good for the soul … and the smile.  But mindfulness is still a bitch, a high-maintenance bitch, at least for me.  She takes work.  Thank God Muri is low-maintenance.

There’s an old … slightly vulgar … saying that goes: If you have one foot in the past and one foot in the future, you’re shitting all over the present.  Hmm.  I better get to work.  It’s Monday.  I’m blessed.  And I’m going to smile, dammit.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 10/28/2013”


  1. With respect to the use of the word “nice” -in writing, maybe it seems rather bland but think of it spoken -in a manner that emphasizes the word a bit and “nice” can then be deemed as really great or terrific and heck, go all out with the way you might speak it and could even pass for an “AWESOME!” then too, perhaps!

  2. territerri Says:

    I understand. Something’s a bit different with me lately, and I’m feeling much more aware of how good I have it. But I know how easily that perspective can get lost among the muck of life. Don’t be too hard on yourself. We all have our highs and lows. You’ve been battling lately. Maybe “nice” and “guessing you’re lucky” are enough right now. I just don’t think it’s possible to be exuberantly happy and grateful at all times.

    • oldereyes Says:

      I have a friend who says gratitude isn’t a feeling but an action. I like that because I can be grateful in my head even when I’m not in my heart. Happy is another matter.


Leave a Reply

