Pulling Strings

park sunriseIn the midst of a weekend wrapped around a Bat Mitzvah, my friend Barry and I have been talking about the challenges of faith, particularly faith in a formal religion.   I have a saying.  If I pull the string on any religion far enough, I encounter something I have difficulty believing.  It might be a burning bush, a virgin birth or gold plates mysteriously buried in upstate New York.  There are also awful acts done in the name of religion.  I find the latter easier to ignore because given the nature of our species, we are sure to screw up even when we know (or believe we know) the Word of God.  Some people seem to be able to pull the string on the religion of their choice all the way and take the Leap of Faith required to believe it all.   Others seem to be able to ignore what they can’t accept.  After years of Pulling Strings, I’ve learned to pull lightly, revealing only enough to have the simple faith with which I’m comfortable … and let others pull their strings as they may.

Have a spiritual Sunday.

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Pulling Strings”

  1. granny1947 Says:

    Just how I feel…to each his own.

  2. Cheryl P. Says:

    While I often envy the blind faith of others, I, too, pull lightly on the string of religion. That’s where I am currently comfortable, as well.

    Have a wonderful day.


Leave a Reply

