Monday Smiles – 12/9/2013

puzzleIf you happened by Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog yesterday, you know that I began the day in the Pre-Holiday Doldrums … and that I made a commitment in the spirit of Milo, the boy-hero of The Phantom Tollbooth, to take actions to escape them.  The truth of the matter is that I am almost always over committed to things I should do but my intentions are good and I frequently do most of them.  My mother always said, The road to hell is paved with good intentions.  Sorry, Mom.  I don’t believe that.  I follow through on at least 60% of my good intentions which would make me the greatest hitter ever if it were a major league batting average.  Yesterday, I was going to clean my car and office, have lunch and run some errands with Muri, and get the winter decorations from the storage bin.   My office is still a mess and so is my car, but everything else?  Done.  See?  60%  Not enough to completely eliminate the Doldrums but a start.

My mood got a boost, too, from a remarkable video I found on the on the website, TED, by filmmaker Louie Schwartzberg.  Schwartzberg creates beautiful films using time lapse photography of nature.  In the video, he talks about his craft and a new project which shows his amazing photography accompanied by the words of a child and an aging Benedictine monk who speaks to the need to be grateful for every moment.   I’d encourage you to take the time to watch it.

From my seat in the Doldrums, it was stunning … it brought tears to my eyes.  Overwhelmed, I found the video on Muri’s Kindle and asked her to sit down to watch it with me.   Again, it brought tears to my eyes and I could see it touched Muri, too.  When it ended, I said, Wasn’t that amazing?   Yes, it was, she said.  Then she looked up at the ceiling fan in our bedroom and said, Could you dust that fan if you get a chance today?   I started giggling and before long, we were both laughing so hard our sides hurt.  Laughter does wonders for the Doldrums.

There was a time that I would have been annoyed that Muri wasn’t as moved as I was by the film but that was a long time ago.  At sixty-nine, I know that we work as a couple not because we are the same but because we fit together like puzzle pieces.  I am moved by the ethereal and Muri by the practical.  I take the time to stop by the side of the road to watch a sunset and Muri takes the time to send a card to a friend in need.   I work hard to be spiritual and Muri has a natural grace.  We have many things that we both love … common values, family and friends, good books and good theater.  A gift of almost fifty years together is being able to laugh, long and hard, at our differences.  It’s Monday … I’m smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Monday Smiles – 12/9/2013”

  1. sharon Says:

    Wow, that was something!


Leave a Reply

