Stopping

AH sunset2)

Last night, on my way home from Islands Restaurant to pick up a work-free Saturday night dinner, I looked up to see the dwindling of the sunset over Anaheim Hills.  Wisps of cotton were touched with the most delicate pink against the fading blue of the evening sky behind the silhouettes of the hill-houses and a few eucalyptus trees.  I sat at the new stop-sign on Night Star Way for maybe 30 seconds, long enough to watch the colors change and snap one mobile phone picture.  In his book, Quiet Moments, David Kundtz calls such times Still Points, spaces in between the events of our lives in which we are not only mindful but in awe of the world around us.  I have several Facebook friends who nearly always Like my impromptu Still Point photos … they are people who periodically post their own and I try to remember to Like theirs.  It is an acknowledgement, I think, a way of saying, Yes, I get it.  It’s a small thing but wondrous.

Try an experiment with me.  For one day, set the timer in your smartphone for 30 minutes.  Every time it chimes, stop.  Look around and take a picture of something that’s amazing, even if in a small way.  At the end of the day, you will have roughly 25 photos to remind you that there are indeed spaces between the events of your busy life.  And sometimes, the best part of your day lies in those spaces.   If you’re feeling ambitious … and creative … make a collage and post it where you can see it.  I’ll show you mine if you’ll show me yours.  Hmmm.  I seem to remember saying that in an entirely different context many years ago, but that’s another story.

Have a mindful Sunday.

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Stopping”

  1. territerri Says:

    That is a beautiful sunset. Even if I couldn’t see it, the words you used to describe it paint a perfect picture.

    I would like to try your experiment, although it may have to wait until the weekend. I’m afraid otherwise, I will not be able to find much that is amazing inside the confines of my cubicle at work. 😉


Leave a Reply

