Coasting

park sunriseI realized this morning that I’m Coasting through this weekend.  We are here in Arizona, and Friday, we got to celebrate my grandson, Reed’s birthday.  Saturday. we all went out for his birthday lunch, then Muri and I got the afternoon off.  We went to the movies, then out to dinner at Cheesecake Factory.   Yes, the movie, Lone Survivor, was violent and hard to watch but it was also well done and moving.  Today, we are headed to Phoenix’s Herberger Theater to see a new play, Other Desert Cities, then we will pick up our grandkids on the way home to spend the night.  It is the kind of weekend that usually makes for easy Monday Smiles here on Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog.  Except that I’m Coasting through it.  If I’m not careful, I’ll arrive at Monday night exhausted from a day with the grandkids … with a camera filled with photos … with a head full of memories … and a souvenir theater program … but without experiencing the joy around me.

Oh, yeah, there are family issues and friend issues that can draw my attention.  There are noisy couples in the restaurant or the line at the movies.  The drivers in the parking lots are crazy.   I’m not happy with myself for the way I’ve been eating while we’re here.  Yesterday, I posted As They Are, about accepting people as they are.  When times are difficult, I can understand that it’s hard to accept life As It Is.   Hard but worthwhile.  I carry a prayer by Melody Beattie (I believe) in my Kindle for such times.  Today, God, help me let go of my need to be in pain and crisis, to see the worst in things.  Help me to move as swiftly as possible through sad feelings and problems.  Help me find my balance in joy, peace and gratitude.  Please help me work as hard at accepting the good things in my life as I’ve worked in the past at accepting the painful and difficult.

What is it about me that makes me need help to find my balance in joy, peace and gratitude on a weekend such as this one?  Why should I have to work hard at accepting the good things in my life when there are so many?  I don’t know but sometimes it just takes that flash of mindfulness to realize I’m Coasting.  And, hopefully, stop.

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older, spirituality

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Coasting”

  1. territerri Says:

    Wow, this resonates with me. This is exactly how I felt last weekend, when I had my kids all around me and a whole weekend of leisure and fun ahead of me. Somehow I knew I was standing back and watching myself go through the motions. I have no idea why, and I can’t put a name to this behavior, but as much as I hate that I do this, it’s good to know I’m not alone in the habit.


Leave a Reply

