Mom’s Moon

best

I have a busy day ahead of me.  I have on online course to complete so that I can register for a government website essential to a job that we are hopeful will come in soon, a job that will certainly unretire me … but will also keep us away from our IRAs for a few years.  I knew that last night as I relaxed watching The Dark Knight Rises at ten pm.  So, what time did I go to bed?   Two am.  I’d like to say I have no one to blame but myself if I’m tired today … I’d like to say that but I won’t.   I am officially blaming Mom.  She not only taught me to be what she called a dirty stay-up … we had the most fascinating conversations over the Tonight Show, occasionally pissing off my Dad, who had to go to work first thing in the morning.   She also taught me that celestial events like meteor showers and eclipses were worth staying up for (or even getting up for if they were at what she would have called some ungodly hour).  On more than one occasion she woke me in the middle of the night to sit in the back yard to catch the peak of some meteor shower.  So, there I was last night, up until 2 am watching the lunar eclipse.  Thanks a lot, Mom.

progression

I’d probably have gone to bed after the eclipse went total at a little after midnight but I had company.   You see, my son, Aaron, is a dirty stay up, too, and never misses a celestial event either … so he was out there with me.  We don’t have very many opportunities to just hang out together and he appreciates having someone who knows about umbras and penumbras and knows what he’selvis eclipse talking about when he says that solar eclipses providing an opportunity to prove Einstein’s Theory.    So, there we were, talking like a couple of geeks and trying to get a halfway decent picture of the blood moon with our crappy snapshot cameras.  Mine had a low light feature and lots of megapixels so I got a few good ones (out of 147 taken).   We had other company, too.  The cats were absolutely fascinated by us being out in the yard in the middle of the night and kept an eye on us through various doors and windows.

TSTSo, here I am in the last paragraph before I go upstairs and try to finish the &%%$^$ online course without falling asleep.  I think I’ll wait until tomorrow to take the exam.  And it’s Top Sites Tuesday #248 where I get to offer Two Thoughts on Tuesday.  Here’s Thought Number One: Never miss the opportunity to experience a little wonder, even if you’ll pay the price the next day.  And Thought Number Two:  Thanks a lot, Mom, for teaching me that.  And to anyone who happens by today, thanks a lot for pushing my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #248.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: nature

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Mom’s Moon”

  1. cherperz Says:

    I also stayed up to watch the blood moon and my pictures were not good at all. The few I got were at a distance. Zooming in seemed to distort the focus.

    I love that you get opportunities to spend time one on one with your son. I don’t know how often that come around at your house but it is somewhat rare around here having one of my kids solo.

    I have been taking a number of online courses lately and have decided I like them. A few are boring but the fact I can do these when I want and take the test at my convenience is so much easier than going to class.

    Good luck on the test.

    Click

    • oldereyes Says:

      My camera has a twilight mode that takes a long exposure then does some kind of processing on the image. Only a few of the shots were any good. My son and I have “had our issues” over the years, so it is indeed good to have some time with him. This course is basically on how to use a very complex website. The questions are ridiculous … like How many ways are there to add a person to your organization? So. I came up one right answer short of passing. There are 43 questions and you get 30 chosen randomly each time, maximum of three tries. Try again tomorrow.

  2. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud,

    I didn’t get to see the eclipse last night, too much cloud cover here, but you did get great photos!

    Your mom was a smart woman – some things are too awesome to miss!

    Wolf

  3. Trina Says:

    What great photos! No doubt you had to take 142 to get that many good pictures

    It’s good to send special events like that with your son 🙂

    Clicks!
    –Trina

    • oldereyes Says:

      I had to enlarge the heck out of the images, so a lot of them ended up blurry. But I am a stubborn old guy. Yes, it was good to spend the time with my son. We have not always been on good terms.


Leave a Reply

