Windy

I didn’t sleep well last night.  If you came around yesterday and read my post, Routines and Rituals, you know that’s not uncommon … I rarely fall asleep quickly these days.  However, once I fall asleep, I sleep well … unless my wife, Muri, gets out of bed.  That almost always wakes me.  She’s tried her best to move slowly and quietly but I always wake.  Bless her heart, she’s even stayed in bed an hour after waking to let me sleep.  That wasn’t the problem last night.   Last night it was Windy.   Southern California Windy.

More exactly, it was Santa Ana winds Windy.  According to Wikipedia, the National Weather Service defines Santa Ana winds as Strong down slope winds that blow through the mountain passes in southern California. These winds, which can easily exceed 40 mph, are warm and dry and can severely exacerbate brush or forest fires, especially under drought conditions.   Strong, indeed.  As I’m writing this a 9 a.m. winds are gusting at 50 mph.  Warm, indeed.  As I’m writing this a 9 a.m. it is 83° outside, headed for near 100°.  Dry, too.  My nasal  passages are like concrete and I’m putting drops in my eyes hourly to keep my dry eye syndrome from giving me double vision.  The yard is littered with fallen branches, overturned patio furniture, and one (so far) plant that blew over, smashing the pot (that would be the container, not the plant).

yard

When they are going strong, Santa Ana winds blow almost continuously, the howling through the trees punctuated by cracking branches and the crahs of objects blow across the yard.  The wind whistles across windows left slightly open creating a vacuum in the house, randomly slamming doors and rattling blinds.  It is not an environment conducive to sleeping.  There is an urban legend that Santa Ana winds increase the number of positive ions in the air, making people more irritable, as if the heat and dryness and noise … not to mention the threat of wild fires … aren’t enough to do that.  As with the notion that a full moon brings out the crazies, there doesn’t seem to be much more than anecdotal evidence to support the myth.  Still, around here the winds have earned the nickname Devil Winds.

I’ll tell you this.  Whatever the cause, people around me better watch out today.  And if I get into trouble, don’t blame me, blame my Inner Curmudgeon.  And rest assured, he’ll tell you, The Devil Winds made me do it.

Explore posts in the same categories: curmudgeonly rants

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Windy”

  1. djmatticus Says:

    Gotta love those Santa Ana winds…
    Our backyard looks like a tornado went through. And the roads around our house are littered with fallen branches. As much as we need rain, at least the ground wasn’t saturated or full trees would have joined the branches on the ground.
    (I’m in Oxnard.)

  2. cherperz Says:

    We have had a tremendous amount of winds (not counting the tornadoes) here in the Midwest as of late as well. I find it a bit unnerving. The random noises associated with the wind doesn’t make it possible for restful sleep here either.


Leave a Reply

