Friday Favorites 5/16/2014

cameraIf you are a regular, you may have noticed that I’m scrambling to keep up with my Postaday Badge this week.  Question, by the way – do I have any regulars?  Other than me, that is.  It doesn’t really matter …  the point is that with some drama early in the week, work to do for the job that may come in any day now, chores to do for the arrival of my grandkids on Sunday and fretting about my S-S-S-Seventieth birthday on Tuesday, the brain cells have been close to comatose at night when I usually blog.  So, here it is, a little before one p.m. on Friday and there are no Favorites posted.  So, I’m going to make it easy on myself and post several photos that I like.

A few years ago, my son came home late in the evening and told me he’d seen a very large cat at the end of the street.  Gesturing with his hands, he indicated something about the size of a Labrador Retriever.  I’m not kidding, he said, noticing the skepticism in my eyes.  I stopped the car and pointed my headlights right at it.  It just stood there and looked back at me.   I said, It must have been a coyote.  We have lots of coyotes in the hills around us.  No, it was spotted like a leopard, he said.  I pretended to believe him.  A few weeks later, in broad daylight, Muri and I turned the corner at the end of the street and a large cat dashed across in front of us.  Yes, Lab large.  My son felt quite vindicated when we told him we’d seen it, too.  Then, a few days later, as I was coming home from the park, he crossed in front of me again.  I stopped the car, grabbed the camera I keep in the glove box, and got out.  The cat stopped and looked back at me curiously, allowing me to get two very good shots of him before he trotted nonchalantly into the nearby ravine. lynx

bobcat3

I believe our unexpected neighbor was a bobcat.  None of us have seen him since but hopefully he disappeared back into the wilderness area that borders our community.  Seeing him … and the pictures I got as proof … are this week’s Friday favorite.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Favorites

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Friday Favorites 5/16/2014”

  1. Barry Says:

    Great pix. Bobcat, or juvenile Mountain Lion??


Leave a Reply

