Seven-Oh

1944I really took my sixty-fifth birthday hard.  It wasn’t so much a physical thing … I was an active, energetic and passionate old guy that most people guessed was much younger, in spite of my bald head and white mustache.  But the arrival of my Medicare card after years of dealing with my father’s Medicare issues was a stark reminder that I was indeed getting old.  It didn’t help that business was so slow that I was being forced to contemplate what retirement might look like.  Only old guys retire, right?  But I carried on.  I started this blog which now has over 1,500 posts offering Reflections from an Older Perspective.  I found an alternate business working as an expert to attorneys and venture capitalists and gradually brought my business back to life.  But I always had my eyes on May 20, 2014, the day I’d turn seventy.  If sixty-five was bad, what would seventy be like?

A while back, my wife Muri asked me what I wanted to do for my seventieth birthday.  I told her, Nothing.  I don’t want to celebrate it.  I meant it.  But my daughter, Amy called and asked of I’d like to go to Disneyland on my birthday.  Truth is, I wanted to say no but I told her, Let me think about it.  Muri encouraged me to say yes … What could be better than spending it with your grandkids? she said.  And so, when this posts today, I will be on my way to Disneyland.  I’ve been posting … both here and on Facebook … about my impending birthday for several weeks now, so I’ve already been told several times that seventy is the new sixty, twice that you’re only as old as you feel, and once that all that happens is a number changes.  I have been told too many times that it’s better than the alternative.  To which I say, thank you,space mountain but I’m not one to sugar-coat reality.  I feel five years older than I did on that day my Medicare card came but I am still active and perhaps more passionate and I can be reasonably energetic if I can manage a nap now and then.  And for May 20, 2014, I intend to be a seventy-year old kid with my grandkids at Disneyland.  Space Mountain, here I come. 

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Seven-Oh”

  1. Barry Says:

    Just don’t pass up the Matterhorn! Wish we could be there to celebrate with you.

  2. Wendy Says:

    There is absolutely nothing like grandchildren to create a fun and enjoyable birthday And to realize that being older is indeed a state of mind, no matter what the body says- and boy does it talk too much ;(
    Hope you have a wonderful birthday, Bud!

  3. cherperz Says:

    Happy Birthday, Bud!!!! Hope you had a great day with your family.


Leave a Reply

