Easily Distracted

TSTI’ve probably said it before here on Bud’s Blog but I’m going to say it again.  I am easily distracted and it sometimes drives people crazy, particularly if we are outside.  We’ll be having a serious conversation and I’ll catch a flash of color in my peripheral vision … and I just have to look.  Oh, yes, and comment.  Look at the color of that flower, maybe.  Or, Look it’s a male goldfinch.  People who know me may glance in the direction of my find to shut me up, then go on with what they were saying.  People who don’t know me may just keep on talking.  I’m used to it.  Now, since as Laurie Tarken says in an article on CBSnews.com, “I think I have ADHD” is the line of the year–or maybe the decade, I suppose I should wonder.   But no, I don’t think so.  I can be very focused when I need to be and besides, I only exhibit three of the nine signs of ADHD she lists in her article (she says there’s no need to call my MD unless I have six).  And no, it’s not that I have particularly uninteresting friends, either.  I actually have an assortment of very interesting friends and they must find me interesting because they put up with my distractedness.  A study done at Harvard suggests that easily distracted people are more creative, so I”m going to go with that.  Not ADHD, just Easily Distracted.  And creative.

The truth is, this is all just a set-up to talk about the new camera my wife, Muri, bought me for my birthday and an excuse to show you a few photos.  It’s a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 and while it’s only what photographers call a bridge camera (as in a bridge between a point-and-shoot and SLR), it’s got so many bells and whistles, I’m actually reading the instructions.  Yes, one of the signs of ADHD I do exhibit is Laurie Tarkan’s number 4: Often starts a project or task without reading or listening to directions carefully.   The first feature I read about was the remarkable 60X optical zoom and anti-shake circuitry that makes it possible to shoot amazing (to me, anyway) close-ups without a tripod, perfect for an Easily Distracted creative curmudgeon hanging around in the back yard or walking in the park.  Here are just a few shots I’ve taken so far:

So, I suppose I need to come up with Two Thoughts since it’s Top Sites Tuesday #254.   Thought Number One: My new camera is a perfect toy for a septuagenarian.  Yeah, I’m one of those.  You’ll probably be seeing a lot more photos around here in the future.  Yes, Photos from an Older Perspective … but With a Newer Camera.  And Thought Number Two:  If you think this post is for the birds, you’re right.  But hopefully, you enjoyed it, too, and are willing to show it by clicking my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #254.  Thanks for stopping by.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: curmudgeonly rants

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Easily Distracted”

  1. cherperz Says:

    I tend to sometimes be “tunnel visioned” and miss seeing those things that distract you so I would consider that a blessing to be that observant.

    Love the picture. I, too just got a new camera. I am not sure if the Canon Powershot sx50 is a bridge camera or just a digital camera but I am struggling to figure out how to use it. Because it didn’t come with a real manual but a CD, I ran up to the printing store and had an actual manual printed out. At 287 pages, I have some reading to do. So far, I am thoroughly confused.

    Have a good week and have fun taking pictures.

    click


Leave a Reply

